Getting Back into Yoga

ImageRam, Vam Tidings! ^^/

 

I was poorly towards the end of last year so unfortunately I stopped going to yoga for a while. The purpose of Yoga is to go there to relax and find inner peace. I really don’t think I would relax if I kept on sneezing and coughing throughout the practice session. XD!

 

I went last Wednesday and to my disappointment I was anxious of going again. Because I haven’t been for a while I got out of the routine of going every Wednesday evening. Then one day my sister then asked me if I wanted to go back to Yoga. I instantly said no because that was my reaction. But after allowing the information to sink in I became more relaxed about it.

 

I thought this was going to be a good opportunity to get back into the routine of going every Wednesday. So I went…

 

We went a lot earlier than usual. This was necessary for two reasons. 1, to get the best seat in the facility. 2, we anticipated that there were going to be a lot of people there due to people’s New Year’s resolutions… Do you have a New Year’s resolution? I don’t. I don’t think I qualify to have one. If I were to have one it would just be the same as me having a short term and long term goal. The short term goal is to complete the second draft of my story; the long term goal is to get my story published.

 

Back on track-

 

In these types of circumstances I would see this as a competition and I always give it more than 100%. Even if I was in pain I would will myself to keep it up until instructed otherwise. Back then I was fiercely competitive, more so with myself than with anyone else. Mostly because I didn’t want to do anything that was deemed wrong. Because I’m rather sensitive being scolded or shouted out, it made me feel rather foolish. Nowadays it’s entirely different and Yoga is the prime example of what I’m talking about.

 

Yoga is all about being true to yourself. Sure, it can help you with tone and flexibility (it has with me) but the most pinnacle principle about Yoga is finding inner peace. And the instructor that I have is simply wonderful, Callie is her name… I think you spell it with a C? Ah well, I’m sure she won’t mind if I get it wrong. =D She is the epiphany of a Yogi (Yoga expert). Full of calm, peace and happiness. =D She spoke to me prior to joining in with the practice to make me feel welcome, and I certainly liked that. She did that with everyone. She admits sometimes that she isn’t always so relaxed but to me that’s what makes her a great instructor. Gaining knowledge and experience can make you a good teacher/advocate but it’s a major plus if they can empathise and understand your point of view. Callie fits the bill here.^^’

 

I did Yoga and my rustiness of recovering from my cold and not going for a couple of weeks showed. I tried to push myself as I do think you can never truly improve if you don’t try. But now I don’t feel like I’m competing with anyone as I don’t have to prove myself to anyone or anything. That’s the beauty of Yoga.

 

I felt sore when I came in that evening but I felt completely worse the next day. It hurts to walk and I felt very tired. I feel jaded even now. I got into the habit of going to bed at a reasonable time and now I’m tired from being bendy. It’s times like these when I wonder how Michael Flatly’s legs don’t just detach from his own body. Haha. XD!

 

I’m in a lot of pain, feel tired but I feel absolutely fantastic. =D I always feel happy whenever I come home from Yoga. I keep reminding myself that it’s not a competition and I’m going there to feel better about myself. This method works very well for me!

 

Namaste. ^^/

Ryan

4 thoughts on “Getting Back into Yoga

  1. Dear friend, Thank you very much, I was really happy to have been following your blog. I’m still a lot to figure out, and here I can only say that you are an awesome blogger, full Inspiring and hope you can inspire more readers. Thanks and greetings compassion from Gede Prama 🙂

    • Good Tidings to you.^^/

      I too am still figuring out how this website works. I wasn’t sure if anyone would read my blogs but I enjoy sharing my thoughts. 😀

      Thank you kindly for your comment. I will definitely continue to write blogs and sharing my thoughts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

