Negativity to Positivity

Image

Good day!^^/

I consider myself to be a very positive person as I naturally look at things on the bright side rather than on the bleak side.

But, like most human beings, I do have my fed-up moments. Sometimes it stems from lack of sleep, sometimes it stems from other sources. Naturally, when one is thinking negative, your mind will play tricks on you. You remember the past times when someone has said something that cheesed you off. Or, you anticipate scenarios that may happen and how you would deal them and make yourself heard. But in reality, if that situation did occur, you would actually be completely different. Because, at the end of the day, imagination is one thing but reality is something different.

That’s at least how I think whenever I think negative. Stress, anxiety and uncertainty can come easily for an Autistic person since it’s the littlest things that can be actually the biggest things. I’m no exception. I’m positive but I do have my moments. I especially don’t like sudden visitors or getting invited out on an impromptu outing. By all means I handle these situations a lot better than I did in the past but my Autistic side does play mind-games with me, a lot.

This week has especially been unlucky for me.

This doesn’t really involve me per se but I am quite saddened by the sacking of Chris Powell from Chartlon Athletic. I’ve supported Charlton since I was 9 years old and I remember him from his playing days at Charlton. I got an autograph from him once but that’s another story. Charlton reached the Quarter finals and played Sheffield United. Unfortunately they lost but all credit to Sheffield United; they showed that they belong in the FA Cup. I was disappointed with the loss but I was just happy that they reached so far in the FA Cup because we’ve always been unlucky when it came to cup competitions.

During Badminton this week, I go every Monday, a shuttlecock landed on one part of the climbing frame. I offered myself as leverage for my brother, but he somehow mistimed his jump and landed on my back in a squat position, it was like a knight landing on a horse from a castle. XD With a lot of willpower I managed to jump at a good height and retrieve the shuttle cock, but then came the more challenging prospect…getting down! I got down safely (eventually) but had very sore arms, a sore back and a twisted hip (don’t ask how that happened, I don’t even know myself. XD)

Over the course of the days I could barely walk. Then came the part where I was making everyone a cup of tea…I went in the cupboard to look for something when something fell out of the cupboard and went straight into my drink but completely avoided both my parents’ cups! XD!

However, all is not lost. I have a lot of techniques for wiping the negativity from my mind. I may think negative thoughts but luckily I’m able to guide them out of my head and into the bin. =)

Technique One: Don’t think about the thing that’s in your head.

You’ve probably heard this many times. I agree, it is easier said than done, especially when you’re wound up and/or upset. But, it actually isn’t all that difficult, it’s much simpler then you think. What I do is, instead of wiping it from my head I just replace it with something that I enjoy and/or love. That way, I grow positive vibes inside my stomach and whatever was making me mad before has long since flushed down the toilet. 😉

Technique Two: Yoga

A lot of people, who are not familiar with Yoga, often say “Oh, it’s just about being bendy!” Yes, yoga does give you more core strength and enables you to bend like a professional contortionist but it’s much more than being “bendy.” Yoga is all about finding inner peace.

I always come away from Yoga feeling nothing but calm and positivite. Doing certain stretches, postures and tranquil visualisations inside my head makes me feel like I’m releasing a bunch of negative energy in one go. Likewise I found that twisting my hips and stretching my body makes me feel relaxed and happy. They say that your emotions lie within your hips and waist and I believe this is true. I mostly exercise my hips and waist but I always end up happy. It sends happy vibes to my head and to my chest.^^/

Technique Three: If you can’t change it, why worry

If something is out of my hands, I just don’t really bother worrying. If something can’t be done, it can’t be done. There is no point in fretting over things that are out of my control. Like when Chris Powell got sacked from Charlton. I’m sad about that but being sad won’t change the fact that Powell is no longer their manager. So, I just remind myself how much he has done for the club. And no matter what happens to Charlton, even if they get relegated to the Conference South, I will still support them always. =)

Technique Four: Talking

Venting out your feelings, crying and whatever is also helpful. Nothing good comes from when you’re bottling up negative energy. If you need to release it and cry then cry. I don’t really need to cry since I don’t get overly emotional about things but I do need to talk. I need to talk to clear my head and to express my anxiety. Sometimes you can give the best advice and lend an ear, but like most humans, you will ultimately need to be given advice and have someone to lend an ear for you. It doesn’t make you a hypocrite, it means that you give awesome advice but you’re still a human being.

Technique Five: Focus on things that you enjoy.

So, the things that I enjoy…

  • Writing my stories since I’m expressing my imagination
  • Drawing. I like to draw my character but I also like to draw fanart.
  • Watching Anime like Heaven’s Lost Property, Non Non Biyori or Is This a Zombie?
  • Read manga like Monster Musume
  • Play games like Mario, Worms
  • Listening to music, mostly the Non Non Biyori soundtrack.
  • Listening to the wind and rain
  • Yoga, I do Yoga poses and Capoeira moves every day, if not, every other day
  • Watching plenty of comedy, like Only Fools and Horses and Alan Partridge
  • Watching films like Iron Man, Man of Steel and Rush Hour
  • Thomas the Tank Engine and Friends
  • Photography. I love taking photos of nature, birds, people’s shadows and unusual perspectives.
  • Talking with my family and friends. I mostly like to hear about their day rather than speaking about my day
  • Having a nice long bath and washing my hair
  • Fresh orange juice and water…it’s odd but drinking cool drinks can make me feel very energetic whereas hot drinks can make me feel tranquilised.

 

Technique Six: Sleep

It helps clear your mind and recovers your body from fatigue.

The point I’m trying to make is that you should apply whatever technique suits you in order to rid yourself of negative thoughts. I have plenty of ways and I sincerely hope you enjoyed reading about what techniques I apply. =D!

Have a Good Weekend everyone,

Namaste. ^^/

Ryan

2 thoughts on “Negativity to Positivity

  1. Pingback: Coping Skill: #38. Listing 5 Good Things | Rose with Thorns

  2. Pingback: My First Year Blog Anniversary | Ryan's World

Leave a Reply

