Post WrestleMania 30 Review

Image

Good Evening.^^/

 

It was one of those nights again where I went over to my brother’s, stayed up half the night to watch WWE wrestling. It wasn’t just an ordinary event though, it was Wrestlemania 30. =D I’m now going to share some of my thoughts on the segments and matches.

 

Opening Segment

It was a cool touch seeing Hogan, Stone Cold and Rock in the ring together. That slip up from Hogan when he said silver dome instead of super dome is definitely a memorable moment. The Rock was funny on the mic. In my opinion, this was a great way to kick off Wrestlemania 30.

 

Daniel Bryan vs Triple H

This was a fantastic match that had both elements of storyline and wrestling. I heard that Triple H beefed himself up in order to compete in this match, he certainly looked strong when he came out. My first thought was ‘My word, his neck’s disappeared!’ But then I thought ‘Wait, did he actually have a neck to begin with?’ XD Regardless, he looked the part.

I genuinely couldn’t anticipate the outcome of this battle but the match as a whole pleased me greatly. Triple H can still perform and he had one heck of a match with Daniel Bryan. This is without a doubt my favourite match of the night.

 

The Shield vs Kane and the New Age Outlaws

This was a pretty short match compared to Daniel Bryan and Triple H.

I would have liked to see the Shield perform for a little bit longer but I can see why this was made into a short match. Roman Reigns looked like a beast, with that double spear to the New Age Outlaws. The ending was just as cool with both the New Age Outlaws being at the end of the Powerbomb.

Do I believe in the Shield? …Yes. 😉

 

André the Giant Memorial Trophy Battle Royal

This was built up to make it look like Big Show would win. I felt that it would be more then appropriate that Big Show would win the trophy.  In truth, I was actually cheering Big Show to win but then surprise, surprise Cesaro won.

I most definitely did not see that coming. It was clever not to announce that he was participating or show his entrance. It seems like he’s going to become a face, which I approve, it could mean that he’s gunning for a championship once again. The way he threw Big Show out of the ring was most impressive and I’m glad to see the sportsmanship after the match.^^/

 

John Cena vs Bray Wyatt

Quite decent match.

There was quite a lot of deep psychological storyline from John Cena’s point of view. It seems like not only was he battling with Bray Wyatt but he was mostly fighting with himself. With the way the match was going it made you think that he was going to turn heel. I.E., beat Bray Wyatt down, go past boiling point, and beat him up more than necessary.

In the end it was John Cena’s victory. He might have won the battle but did he win the war? It would be interesting if this leads somewhere in the future, even if his feud with Bray Wyatt has ended.

 

Vickie Guerrero’s Divas Championship Invitational

I wonder how the Female wrestlers felt since this match happened right after the Brock Lesnar and the Undertaker match. AJ Lee winning was pretty much what I had expected. Although, the way AJ moved Naomi’s hand to make it look like she ‘tapped’ was very humorous to watch. =D

 

Triple Threat for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship

I thought that Batista was going to win this match since I figured that it would have been part of his contract. I was surprised again when Daniel Bryan defied the odds and ended up winning the title. It was truly a magnificent sight.

I have been following Daniel Bryan’s career when he was known as the “American Dragon” Bryan Danielson. Never in a million years would I have thought that not only would he be in WWE, be the most popular superstar but, he would go on to headline Wrestlemania and win the championship! I’m very pleased for him. I wore his “YES” shirt and I chanted proudly when he won. Haha.

Bryan wrestled for just under 50 minutes in both matches combined. I’m calling it now, I want to see a 60 Minute Iron Man Match in next year’s WrestleMania between Daniel Bryan, Seth Rollins, Cesaro and Adrian Neville. XD!

I’m hoping that Randy Orton is ok. When he used the RKO (well, technically Neckbreaker. XD) on Daniel Bryan it looked like he landed on the small TV monitor thing. He looked like he was in a lot of pain and I wouldn’t be surprised if he doesn’t wrestle for a couple of weeks.

 

Finally, this wasn’t the last match but it’s the match that I have the most views on…

 

Brock Lesnar vs The Undertaker.

I wasn’t really engaged with the hype and build-up of this match. Like a lot of people out there I automatically assumed that the Undertaker was going to win. I just thought that Brock wouldn’t gain anything from ending Undertaker’s Wrestlemania streak since he’s a part time wrestler. Then, to my utmost surprise, Lesnar pins the Undertaker for the 1-2-3! =O

I was literally dumbstruck and so was everyone in New Orleans. You could’ve heared a pin drop, it was that quiet. I actually don’t think the commentators knew that the Undertaker was going to lose since their reaction seemed genuine.

I can’t really say that I approve of Undertaker losing, especially at Wrestlemania, but don’t necessarily agree with him losing to Brock. What did Brock gain from beating the Undertaker? In my opinion if the Undertaker was going to lose his streak he should have lost it to someone of the future like Daniel Bryan or Roman Reigns.  Not to someone who performs part time. Is there a secret motive to Brock Lesnar winning? Or is Lesnar going to become a full time wrestler from now on?

I felt a bit sorry for the Undertaker in general, watching the match it looked like the Undertaker was struggling to walk. Was his age catching up with him? Or are his legs going? I did get the impression that Lesnar was holding back as usually he could pound his opponents down with no remorse. He didn’t do that with the Undertaker.

 

So, with all that in mind, it begs the question, what of the Undertaker now? I’ll toss up a couple of theories now.

 

The Undertaker’s Future

What I’m thinking now is a mixture of what I’d like to happen and what could happen.

It’s no secret that Sting wants to fight the Undertaker, and it’s no secret that we all want that to happen. Since Sting’s TNA time is over the rumours of him coming to WWE have been stronger than ever.

I propose that the Undertaker and Sting have been in talks about how to make their match as realistic and most anticipated as possible. They have to make it in a way where the Undertaker and Sting are equal. Perhaps they’re working it for the following WrestleMania?

But, how do you get Sting and Undertaker on equal footing? If Undertaker goes undefeated against Sting then we can all guess for England that the Undertaker will walk away the victor. However, since he lost to Brock Lesnar, if that match between Taker and Sting was arranged then that would make them equal. So, maybe that’s the main reason why Brock beat the Undertaker. The Undertaker wanted someone to beat him for the build-up to his match against Sting and the only wrestler that could legitimately beat Taker was Brock.

I have been speculating all this time that Sting will make an entrance on Monday Night Raw, the one after Wrestlemania and interrupts Undertaker’s “retirement” speech.

There’s a strong chance that the Undertaker will come out on Raw this evening, make an “important announcement” and then Sting comes in and make his WWE debut for the first ever time. =D I seriously want that to happen and I would love it more if he gets back his crow look and crow music from his WCW days. I especially hope for the silent Sting, where stories were told with his eyes rather than through speaking. =D

 

I say all this but most of it is just me hoping to see Sting in the WWE, especially against the Undertaker.

If Sting should appear in the WWE then I would want to be taken by surprise. It’s because of that reason that I’m avoiding all media as much as I can. I can’t wait for Raw tonight. =D

 

Winding Down

Phew!

 

I never planned to make a Wrestlemania review but when I woke up very late this morning/afternoon I suddenly had the urge to.

 

Boy, did I go to bed late last night, and I’ve got badminton this evening! I’m definitely going to sleep sound tonight. =D

 

^^/

Ryan

Leave a Reply

