Mushibugyou to release multiple OVAs

Image

Konichiwa.^^/

 

I’m pleased to hear of the news that the anime, Mushibugyou, will release a couple of OVAs in the near future. The first one will be released on 18th July. July is going to be a very good month for me, in more ways than one.^^

 

For those who haven’t seen the anime or read the manga, Mushibugyou is set in Tokyo during the Edo-era. Tokugawa Yoshimune, the eighth shogun, created a new magistrate unit, the Mushibugyou, to protect the civilians from giant insects. Mushi is another term for insects/bugs and bugyou means Magistrate. =)

 

I first saw this on Crunchyroll and I must admit, my expectations were low and they didn’t really grow much for the first 8 episodes or so. I started to enjoy this a lot, lot more when a certain character made her debut. From then on, I would wait excitedly for each episode to be released weekly. All the characters are quirky, the fights are very good, the girls have beautiful designs and there is no heavy drama involved. This became an instant favourite of mine and I was severely disappointed when it ended. I also enjoyed the relationships that the girls had with Jinbei. They were all unique and endearing; the forbidden love between Jinbei and Kuroageha was especially interesting.

 

Apparently, the whole season of Mushibugyou covered a good 100 chapters of the alternative manga; Joujuu Senjin!! Mushibugyou. I heard as well that the conclusion of the fight in the anime differed to that of the manga. I wasn’t too surprised when I heard this because the same situation happened with Sekirei. In the latest season, Sekirei: Pure Engagement, in order so as not to run ahead of the Manga, the production crew created a conclusive storyline. Ironically, I find it interesting that Seven Arcs produced both Mushibugyou and Sekirei.

 

If I were to change anything, I would have divided the anime show into more than one season. If the anime had covered all the arcs, it would have caught up with the timeline in the manga. I would assume the anime would have missed out a lot of the plot from the manga and likely added a few anime-only materials in order to conclude the story. Apart from that, I have no qualms.^^

 

It makes me wonder what will happen in the OVAs. If they really did catch up with the events in the manga then it would mean that these OVAs will be anime-only materials. I anticipate that we will get a beach episode because there’s official artwork of the beautiful female cast wearing bikinis and have that “beach” feel to them. Plus, it seems imperative for most anime to have at least one beach orientated episode. Haha. =D

 

It would be nice if Mushibugyou was released in English, perhaps licensed by Seven Seas or Kodansha. Sadly, it doesn’t look like this will happen, at least not in the near future. It even has a game out for the 3DS, but I can’t get it, since its Japan only. My only hope really is for Mushibugyou anime to be licensed by America, then the UK. I think MVM will more likely go after this anime rather than Manga Entertainment, I don’t know why, it’s just an inkling. =)

 

At some point I will write a more comprehensive review of this anime as I really, really like it and have a lot to say. I have two music CD’s sung by the characters Hibachi and Oharu and the 2014 calendar of Mushibugyou. It’s currently May/June and it is a collage photo of Jinbei. What fun. =)

 

Sayonara.^^/

Ryan

Leave a Reply

