Familiarity and the World Cup England Match

Image

Footy Tidings.^^/

 

Like most people with Autism I like familiarity, especially when I go out to badminton and yoga. It’s not just about familiarity with the same people; it involves a number of factors. What clothes I will be wearing, what time I will be going, for how long, what I will need to take with me, who is it to pay and what shuttlecocks we will be using. It may surprise you but with us Autistic folks, the smallest of things can actually be the biggest.

 

With yoga last night, I was out of my comfort zone. A new yogi instructor was present in place of Callie. This did put me out as I wasn’t expecting a new yoga instructor at all. I also didn’t expect so many people turning up, since the sun has been shining beautifully in the sky as of late. So, I felt squashed by the huge crowd and there was a new yoga instructor to accustom myself to. I did my best to try and remain positive although being caught off guard and being out of my comfort zone, it wasn’t easy.

 

I was able to cope in the end but unfortunately I wasn’t able to relax, I was rather too intense to be able to chill out. It partly made me weary and initially I told myself that I’m not going to go next week. What if Callie isn’t there again? What if the room is going to be crowded again? But then, I listened to some Non Non Biyori music, had a bath, watched football, spoke to my family members and now I’m able to think rationally…

 

I was basically thinking too much. It’s that thing of when my imagination play tricks with me. What’s the point of anticipating situations that may or may not happen? One of the teachings of yoga, which I adhere too very passionately, is living in the moment. Don’t think about situations that may happen in the future. How do you know what will happen? Instead of anticipating moments, just handle those moments if they happen. And that philosophy is the kind of philosophy I’m trying to achieve with a smile on my face. =)

 

*

 

I’m really enjoying the World Cup. This is probably the best World cup in years, at least in my opinion.

 

I mentioned in my previous blog that I fear for England’s chances of advancing to the knockout stage. In their previous match they lost 2-1 to Italy.

 

It was certainly a valiant effort on their parts. Raheem Sterling looked very positive going forward, when he fired that shot in the third minute I honestly thought he had scored. XD We played decent Football, we had some good tempo going on and we closed Italy down at appropriate times. However, I felt that we fell short on the technical and mental aspects of the match. We lost focus at crucial times and perhaps got a little careless when giving the ball away. Perhaps fatigue came into play? When it came to passing I felt that Italy outplayed us in that regard. They’re all about technique and passing the ball around. Hopefully England would have learned from this and will do their very best against Uruguay tonight. =)

 

I’ve been invited to my sister’s house to watch the Football there. At this moment in time I feel like watching at home, but, instead of making a rash decision now I’m just going to see how I feel tomorrow. =)

 

COME ON ENGLAND! =D

Ryan

Leave a Reply

