Transformers: Age of Extinction Film Review

 Transformers Age of Extinction

Happy Bank Holiday everyone.^^/

This is my review on Transformers: Age of Extinction as well as everything else that led up to it. =)

  1. BEFORE FILM

I’m not a cinema goer in the conventional sense. I was asked by my friend (who also happens to be my hairdresser!)  if I  wanted to go and watch Captain America: Winter Soldier  at the cinema. At that time I had already seen it. The Transformers film was nearing its last showing, so to my surprise I suggested that we could go and watch it.  He accepted.

It was quite out of character on my part. If I go to the Cinema it would be jam-packed with other cinema watchers. Whenever I go to watch films I tend to go in the last week of their showing, like I have done with the newest Transformers film.

It did actually dawn on me before going out that I was going out with someone, outside my home, without the presence of a relative. I had or have social circles from my college and uni days but I was hanging out with someone who had no connection to college or uni and wasn’t family. I did get nervous because it was a new experience. It was like going into the unknown.

I tried to calm myself down and cool my mind by drawing, watching the Sabagebu anime and reading Thomas the Tank Engine books… I then discovered that I actually lost track of time. I started to dart around to find my newly ironed top, only to crash my knee into my desk… it’s no exaggeration when I say that it really, really hurt. XD I couldn’t walk properly, so I was thankful I was going to spend the rest of the night sitting down.

The traffic was quite bad by the time I reached the cinema so I was a little late. By this time I didn’t worry so much. I might be a little late but the film doesn’t actually start until all the adverts are shown on the screens. I got accustomed to this so I never worry as much about being late to see a film. I do want to get there on time though to buy tickets and what not.

When me and my friend got inside I got myself a ticket and that lovely combination of a large… what was it called? It was a mixture of mango and strawberry. That’s it! It was a Tango. =D …I think?

The ticket buying process was something new for me, as most times when I go to the cinema with family, one person will pay for all the tickets then everyone will reimburse that person afterwards (saves everybody queuing!).  My friend bought his ticket and I then asked him if I needed to buy a ticket, to which he replied ‘yes’.

I hope he didn’t think I was expecting him to pay for me – he obviously didn’t know my usual ‘buying tickets’ routine! =D

  1. FILM OVERVIEW

I found this film to be most engaging. The graphics were exquisite and the sound was clear. In fact, I could feel the vibrations on my seat whilst watching the film. The action was very good to. I enjoyed the fights the most that involved Optimus Prime. Bumblebee against Stinger was also a good rivalry. I sensed a battle of pride between the two. It was personal to Bumblebee and fortunately he got on top.

It was interesting how the whole Autobots/creatures like Lockdown existed since the Dinosaur and that Lockdown and crew were the cause of their extinction. Like the prequel, Dark of the Moon, the producers meddled with the timeline and added their own interpretation on to it. XD

The codeable is a really cool gadget. You can mould that in any way you want. Just imagine if something like that really existed. I could then build my own train fort in my garden. Hoho! Enough of my own fantasies, I’d better crack on with this review!

I must be honest when I say that whilst I really did enjoy the film I did get lost at times. There were moments where I didn’t think that the story and plot was necessarily clear.

I got the gist that after the introduction of the Dinosaur age that the story time-skipped a couple of years from the previous film.

It then introduced Cade Yeager… this is where I got confused. I actually thought Cade was an adult version of Sam Witwicky and that Sam was finally tied down with Rosie and that they have a daughter. I thought Rosie got tired of Sam so she bailed on him and his daughter lived with him. Then when Optimus Prime made an appearance and they interacted… that’s when I figured out that that person was not Sam. It took me a while, I know. XD

It begs the question- what happened to Sam and the lovely Rosie? I would have liked it if their absence was explained or at least know where they are now. I do think it’s understandable why the government would attack the Autobots as well as Megatron and his evil posse.

Stinger was based on Bumblebee… I actually think, or like to think, that Stinger was a lady car. It was like a glossy red with a bit of dark pink- ish. The head of Stinger looked feminine too. Of course they battled it out since it would be a battle of pride from Bumblebee’s point of view. I personally think it would have been better if Stinger was female and had a personality of her own. Then we could have seen a forbidden romance between her and Bumblebee. Bumblebee would want to kick her bum at first or Stinger wanted to beat him down but fell in love with him and switched sides. I wanted that to happen but alas it ended with her/him/it dying…

Optimus Prime is really cool and is my favourite character from the Transformers series. He has a very striking glow and a colourful presentation with a hypnotic voice from Peter Cullen. He is clearly the strongest out of all the Autobots but he does get beaten pretty easily in some of the films. In some ways I suppose this is good as it shows that all good fighters can have handicaps, even if they are someone like Optimus. I wonder if he was out of character at times, especially when he said “I’ll kill you!” I’m not the most qualified person to judge Optimus though since I just follow the films rather than the whole Transformers franchise. =)

My personal highlight of the film was the introduction of the Dinobots. I didn’t see it coming and it was great to see them form and fight initially with Optimus. It was even better when they became allies. =)

I want to make a big shout out to Brains. It’s great to see him back. =D That Megatron though… he never dies, does he? I actually think the producers enjoy keeping him alive. Haha.

I do have one constructive criticism, whilst turning a blind eye to the others… the length. I struggle watching films. If I were to watch them I would prefer watching them on Film four or Sky movies or on DVDs. I would have little breaks to walk around to stretch my legs and arms. I looked at the running time before I left and was a bit taken aback when I saw that the running time was 165 minutes… nearly three hours! It was a good film but I do think it was a bit much and it could have easily been condensed down to two. Still, I coped and survived with the duration of the film though. I just see it that it was another useful experience to my ever growing adventures.

  1. CONCLUSION

I thoroughly enjoy this. I enjoyed the graphics, the design of the Autobots and the introduction of the Dinobots. There were a couple of times where I did get lost during the film and it did give me a headache. I got confused about the characters and I didn’t always follow what was happening.

I give this film, One-Thumb’s up!

Thumbs-Up

(My Rating System)

THANKS FOR READING

This was a valuable experience for me. Going to the cinema with not only a friend, but without the accompany of a relative. My Autistic quirks came into play when I realised I was going to experience a somewhat new situation, but it was an experience that was worth fulfilling. It goes to show that I can handle my autism side, even if I have to endure my worries. XD

Thanks for reading.^^/

Ryan

One thought on “Transformers: Age of Extinction Film Review

  1. Pingback: My First Year Blog Anniversary | Ryan's World

Leave a Reply

