High School DxD Volume Two Review

High School DxD Vol 2

Konbanwa.^^/

I am thrilled to announce that I have recently uploaded my 50th blog post. So far, I have been enjoying it a bunch. =)
It came to my attention that I don’t really review or scrutinise manga like a professional. I also realise that some readers will not appreciate being spoiled during review. I understand and respect those points.

However, I talk about manga based on my enjoyment through my casual rambling. You will notice that I go off-topic in many of my reviews, like this one. =) The whole purpose of me blogging is a chance for me to express my feelings and how I handle social situations and cope with Autism. I figured that reviewing manga would give me another reason to blog and express myself, rather than just talk about Autism. I actually have read a few manga but so far I’ve chosen to review the ones that I’m really, really enjoying.^^/

I may not be the most professional reviewer but I’m still going to keep reviewing casually as doing it this way makes me happy. =D

WARNING: I MAY GIVE SPOILERS AWAY

  1. REVIEW

Issei Hyoudou, once human pre Volume One, is now the servant of the voluptuous devil, Rias Gremory. Issei has entered into a forbidden friendship with the nun of the church, the pacifist sister, Asia Argento.

Issei’s devil master, Rias, prohibits Issei from interacting with Asia, let alone befriending her. Doing so would create a striving commotion between the Devils, Fallen Angels and the church. As you can imagine, when Issei comes into contact with Asia and rushes to her aid, he’s practically asking for trouble. How will he handle Heaven’s malevolent schemes?

I enjoyed Volume Two as much as the previous volume, in more ways than one. Since this is classed as an ecchi manga and it’s targeted towards a mature audience, it’s easy to assume that it’s just full of unnecessary cheeky moments… you would be surprised that this isn’t necessarily so. It has much more to offer then beautiful ladies that expose their sensual skin and figures. I effectively refer this as a guilty pleasure bonus. 😉

With how Issei is treating Asia as a friend it does make me wonder if their relationship is going to turn into something more serious. It even implies at the back of the book that a forbidden romance could transpire between the two. Their first encounter was very nice, and their friendship certainly has blossomed in this volume. Issei may be perverted, but he’s not a jerk about it. He treats Asia with respect, and likewise, Asia treats him like a precious friend. I definitely like Asia; I tend to connect strongly with innocent and kind girls like her. I’m not that keen on aggressive girls as I don’t necessarily find them funny and it will take me a while to accept them for who they are. However, I have no such worries with innocent and polite girls like Asia as I find them to be endearing.

This is when I got concerned about Rias… She instantly grew on me when she made her debut in the first book, she is simply gorgeous. So, because she is adamant about Issei abandoning his friendship with Asia, I was concerned that she was going to dislike her. Granted, her reasons for being concerned and acting like a typical big sister are very well justified. But, I was really rooting for Asia to enter into a friendship with Issei. At that point I did suspect that a love triangle could happen. However, luckily, everything worked out in the end and my worries about disliking Rias were squashed. In fact, the opposite happened. Rias eventually accepts Asia and welcomed her into the world of the devils…

Naturally, I was most upset when Asia died after that, ahem- malicious lady killed her. The villains in this story are very well portrayed. I always think that at least the most villainous of characters will have some redeeming features, like perhaps baddies of this series…NOPE. I hate them all, at least, in this manga. XD I really like girls like Asia and I certainly like Issei, so to see those getting beaten down or besmirched did leave a bad taste in my mouth. I was upset when Asia was abandoned but nearly cried when she died… I then sighed and puffed my cheeks into a wide smile. Asia was brought back to life by Rias and made her, her bishop. I’m very happy indeed. =D

Let’s talk about Raynare, one of the many villains… I mention about redeeming features. She implied that now that she obtained Asia’s sacred gear, which involves healing abilities, she will no longer be laughed at. It makes me wonder if something horrible made her what she is today. Perhaps something drove her mad into becoming a fallen angel? Perhaps I should feel sorry for her? Perhaps I should look at it from her point of view? Perhaps her reason for killing Issei and Asia can be justified? …NAH! I still dislike her. XD I must say though, I did feel for her to some degree when Rias obliterated her. She deserved by all means but isn’t this one of those where two wrongs don’t make a right? I wouldn’t have killed her per se, but, I’m glad Rias did. =)

There are plenty of situations that can be taken as highlights, such as Issei befriending Asia, Asia, the beautiful ladies, but for me the main highlight is the battle.

The on-going battles and action were awesome; it also made me forget about the fact that this is classed as an ecchi manga. The ladies don’t expose their skin just for the sake of it, but when they do, it’s appropriate for the situation.

During the battle the roles of the fighters have been explained. Issei was the perfect protagonist that takes centre stage. His two back-ups, Kiba and Koneko, were the ideal support team. They showed off their skills to a big crowd of villains whilst Issei took on the big dog. To me, this shows that whilst the back-ups may not necessarily be as strong as the main guy, without the back-ups the main guy can’t move forward. In this case, we have Kiba and Koneko utilising their skills to help Issei move forward. If it weren’t for them, Issei wouldn’t have been able to move through that huge mass.

The visuals in the manga play a critical role during the peak and aftermath of the action. We learn about the chess pieces and fighting roles more in-depth. Rias’ explanations are also demonstrated visually as she talks about the pawn’s role and potential. The images have certainly helped me to understand better. We found out in this volume that it took eight pawn pieces to revive him. This is all because of his power, the Sacred Gear, Boosted Gear.

Speaking of the art, the illustrations demonstrated more of the lighter moments of the manga, like, when Asia eat a hamburger for the first time. Her reactions and showing off her clean hands was the highest peak of cuteness. Another cute and funny moment was when she tried to pray to God, but received a shock to the head (due to her new allegiance to being a devil). Her jealous face was cute too… Still, even if she is jealous, she is still graceful and polite. We need more characters like Asia around.

Everything concluded itself nicely, but wait, a new character is introduced. At the same time Rias is looking dejected and subdued… it seems to me that Rias is in some kind of arranged marriage and she’s engaged to this ugly looking geezer. Haha. I’m sort of hoping something happens between her and Issei. That kiss on the forehead was affectionate and endearing, but, I reckon it would have been better if they smooched. Haha.

  1. THEME
  • Action
  • Comedy
  • Ecchi[1]
  • Fantasy
  • Game
  • Harem[2]
  • Mature
  • Romance
  • School Life
  1. CONCLUSION

The chess pieces have been explained appropriately, especially the role of the pawn. Had everything been explained straightaway then I would have found it too confusing.

Visual aids and fight scenes were used to further demonstrate the roles of the fighting pieces. Issei took the limelight, showing everyone that he is the main character and showing that he can attain any rank during the fight. And, the supporting devils supported him as they showed off their abilities in their own way.

One of the main highlights for me was the fight scenes. The fights were constant and set at a good pace. There were some cheeky moments. But, these cheeky moments were not used for the sake of it; they were used since its part of the story.

I was sad when Asia died. But, I was as delighted when Rias brought her back to life. I was concerned that I was not going to like Rias but those worries were quashed. It looks as well that the forbidden romance between Issei and Asia may not be so forbidden after all. It can then turn into a straight romance if Rias approves it.

High School DxD Volume Two gets Two Thumbs Up(My Rating System)

Two Thumbs-Up

THANKS FOR READING

High School DxD

I’m really enjoying this manga and it has entered into my official top five favourite manga along with Monster Musume and D-Frag. =) Speaking of Monster Musume, since I’m enjoying volume four so much I decided to re-read the whole thing again… it is wonderful. =D I won’t review volume four straight away since I rather not force myself. But, I will review it at least before the release of Volume five.

Thanks for reading.

Sayonara.^^/

Ryan

[1] This manga contains risqué and sexy moments or lecherous characters.

[2] In this manga all the ladies are gunning after one man and/or lady.

Leave a Reply

