Monster Musume Volume Four Review

Monster Musume Volume Four Cover

Monster Musume Volume 4 has entered into the New York Times top ten manga charts for the third time since its release. The love and niche for monster girls is really spreading throughout the world. Anime when? 😉 Attack on Titan is dominating as usual. It must be over a year now since Attack on Titan volume 1 was released. Time really flies. =) Witch Craft Works volume 1 arrived yesterday morning. I’m going to give it a good read at some point. =)

Let’s crack on with the review. =D

  1. SYNOPSIS

Kimihito has been tangled up in a bunch of problems since he became a host for the special interspecies programme. Now, he has literally been tangled up in Rachnera’s web, an Arachne[1] who has been on the run since her assault on Kasegi! Granted, he deserved to be “punished” but nonetheless, the law is the law and Rachnera has broken it.

Centorea, the proud Centaur, has certainly become wary of Rachnera’s presence since her arrival and understandably so. Like a knight in shining…Well, a tight fitted blouse, Cerea will do whatever it takes to save her master from this Arachne’s grasp!

  1. THEME
  • Comedy
  • Ecchi[2]
  • Fantasy
  • Harem[3]
  • Mature
  • Parody
  • Romance
  • Seinen[4]
  • Slice of Life[5]
  1. REVIEW

WARNING: I MAY GIVE SPOILERS AWAY

The suspense continues from the previous volume.

Rachnera is the perfect symbol of someone who you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover. Granted, she’s a runaway and broke the law, but, Kasegi and her former family hosts are what caused Rachnee to do what she did. She didn’t do anything bad though, only tying up Kasegi (some shady geezer) and kidnapped Kimihito (who has become accustomed to being kidnapped. Haha). I can sympathise with Rachnee and understand why she was sceptical of humans. I also like her style; I predicted that she was going to be a lecherous type and I was right. =D

I’m picturing her voice as Shizuka Itou, who is the same VA as Akeno Himejima from High School DXD and is playing one of the main roles in the new Sailor Moon anime. She has a wonderful vocal range and often portrays female characters that are quite sexual in nature. She can also play ladies who are mature yet innocent.

It seems that judging a liminal by a human is common, but for a liminal to be judged by another liminal is rather interesting. I.E., Miia and Cerea judging Rachnee due to her “scary” look. By the way, I’m not sure how Miia lost that quick dual against Rachnee, perhaps she got careless? Oh well! It was funny seeing Miia tied up in the manner that she was.

Speaking of Rachnera, it’s a very good job that Kimihito has got a leg fetish, otherwise I don’t think he would be able to win her over. I didn’t even realise that his fetish for legs were genuine. I thought he said that to settle an argument between Miia, Cerea and Papi. Who would have thought? It makes me wonder though, how does Kimihito feel about Cerea’s legs and Papi’s legs? Rachnee has nice shaped legs though, even if she is an Arachne. I actually like her, I like her much more than I thought I would.  Her heart is in the right place, she loves bondage and she saved Cerea and Kimihito from that gang of thugs.

Mero made me laugh; she mistook Rachnee for a crab! XD

I really liked the swimming chapter as it made me laugh the most out of all three. It was funny when Miia got all cocky since Cerea and Mero put on weight but then stopped when she found out that she was going to get weighed herself. Haha. I didn’t think they would have health checks in this manga, especially since they’re usually done in schools.

My two highlights of this volume are two certain moments. One, when Miia pushed Kimihito into the water shouting “booyah!” The second was when she did that amazing jump but landed really hard on the water. It was quirky how she was able to swim backwards and it’s definitely another benefit of being a lamia. Because she’s a snake and she wiggles and slithers it’s no surprise that she has a toned stomach.

The rivalry between the lamia (Miia) and the mermaid (Mero) resumes in this very volume. Granted, the rivalry is a little one-sided. With Miia, what you see is what you get. She makes it no secret when she gets cross or annoyed with someone. Just look how she is with Kimihito, although I do think she slightly holds back with her advances. Apart from that, what you see is definitely what you get.

Polt is a good character, I wondered if she was going to be inducted into Kimihito’s harem. It turns out that she didn’t, or at least, she hasn’t as of yet.

The last chapter was definitely getting juicy. For some reason I’m always anticipating for Kimihito’s relative to show up, and I honestly thought some relative (perhaps a sister) was going to show up on this “date”. Turns out, it was Ms Smith! She looked like she would make a nice couple with Kimihito. She also looks nice in her casual clothes. Why is she so addicted to coffee/caffeine though?

Speaking of Ms Smith, I feel really sorry for Suu. Miia and the others are making Suu conform herself to accommodate a disguise for the other girls. Her disguise for Papi was quite funny; it was also when she kept stealing someone’s water.

How did Kimihito not figure out their disguises though? Miia called him “darling” and Mero reacted when he said her name.

I really liked the reference to Metal Gear Solid that was made. It was most ingenious. Miia pulls off that costume very well.

It turns out that Ms Smith and Kimihito’s “date” was just a red herring. XD I’ve always wondered how Ms Smith really sees Kimihito, and I anticipated that we were going to get some answers. It turns out; we learn something much more important. Kimihito’s life is now in danger. I wonder who sent that death message. I’ll give you my guess two lines down…

A dullahan.^^/

  1. BONUS

We have a juicy colourful special in which Miia and the others try on different bras, all in different shapes and sizes, literally. 😉 It was pleasant to read. In this technicolour side story there’s an underlining moral which is quite significant…and hilarious. XD There is a bonus chapter and more fun facts about the newly introduced characters.

  1. CONCLUSION

The story is actually getting rather exciting. This story is certainly not shy when it comes to showcasing rudeness but it actually has a solid story line and morals if you look beyond the boobs, bums and legs. Haha. The ending was especially exciting and a lot more dramatic then when Rachnera debuted. It’s making me sweat a lot more for Kimihito’s health and well-being. Haha.

It’s very clever how all the characters use puns which refer to their animalistic side. Like, Rachnee using “itsy-bitsy” in a lot of her sentences. Miia also calls Mero a “watery tart.” Haha, poor Mero.

Its biggest factor is probably its fan-service and perhaps borderline softcoreness, but for me, the charm is definitely in the humour. Even after re-reading this volume for more than five times, I never fail to laugh. Like with Tom and Jerry or Only Fools and Horses– I’ve watched the repeats of those shows for years and they always crack me up. The characters are adorable and if possible, I started to like them even more.

Two Thumb’s-Up! (My Rating System)

Two Thumbs-Up

MONSTER MUSUME ANIME

Monster Musume Background

Apparently, the official website of Monster Musume was launched only a month ago.[6] The website has been asking fans for their opinion about what scenes (if adapted into an anime) we would definitely not want to be removed.[7] For me, I would want the anime to stay as true to the manga as much as possible. If anything, I would want them to extend the scenes, not cut them out. I could partake in that discussion but I prefer to just sit back and see what happens. I’m sure whatever happens in the future is meant to be. =)

It all depends on which production company will want to acquire the license of Monster Musume. Not all companies have the luxury when it comes to finance or time. I personally propose Aniplex but I can see someone like Xebec producing it.

They’re also running popularity polls on the main website. Again, I’m tempting to partake in the fun poll, but, I don’t really want to go on that site in case I get spoiled. Whilst browsing the main site I downloaded a few wallpapers; the one above of Miia is my new PC wallpaper. =)

THANKS FOR READING

37121267_m

Boy, I sure went on a tangent towards the end. Haha. Well, I certainly enjoyed my time reviewing this. Now, the question remains… should I buy MonMusu Vol 5, or, add it to my Christmas list? It’s released in November and Christmas is not really that far away. Decisions, decisions…

With that probing thought I bid you all a Sayonara.

Thanks for reading.^^/

Ryan

[1] An Arachne is a half human and half spider.

[2] This manga contains risqué and sexy moments or lecherous characters.

[3] In this manga all the ladies are gunning after one man and/or lady.

[4] The target audience is aimed at males between the ages of 18 and 30.

[5] Every day mundane life.

[6] Monster Musume Official Website. Official Website. Accessed 13 October 2014. <http://www.monmusu.jp/&gt;

[7] Anime News Network. Monster Musume Manga Site Gauges Interest in Anime Adaptatin. Accessed 13 October 2014. <http://www.animenewsnetwork.com/news/2014-09-12/monster-musume-manga-site-gauges-interest-in-anime-adaptation/.78718&gt;

Leave a Reply

