Negativity to Positivity: Over-Thinking

keep-calm-and-think-happy-thoughts-9

Autumn Tidings! ^^/

Over-thinking does play a part in my life when my subconscious allows it to. Haha. I’m in a very good place in life and I used to be a right pro when it came to over-thinking. Now, I’m just a semi-pro. Haha.

  1. Why I Over-Think

I probably over-think because it’s part of my Autism. Not understanding generalisation or summarising situations is a common trait in Autism. It’s also one of my own personal Autistic quirks. I would say problems but I don’t really see it as a “problem” but more as a personality trait.

I used to especially over-think due to my lack of experience in society. Sometimes if someone new had a banter with me or made a quip I would tend to read into it more than necessary. I would especially read into stuff as being a sensitive soul I would get upset if I felt like I had said something wrong or made someone upset. Every time something like this occurred, I would recount these events with my family and they always reassured me that “there’s nothing in that, it’s just banter”. In my younger days, I understood what they were saying and I somewhat became reassured. But, since I lacked social experience and if I didn’t know that person, there was always a doubt in my mind as to whether the things my family members were saying was right…

When I was at University and after University, I started to compose my thoughts in this regard. Why should I let someone else’s views and personality make me miserable? Why should I give into negative energy when I can fill it with the things I like?

What I’m saying it is that you shouldn’t worry about what others think of you and you shouldn’t go out of your comfort zone for the sake of impressing them. If a person, whether it’s a friend or stranger has a problem with you or your ‘quirks’ then that’s their issue to deal with. It’s not your issue, and you shouldn’t allow yourself to be caught up in it, as hard as it might be. It’s especially hard for those who like to please others. I will always be nice to everyone, even if they don’t share the positive attitude I have.

Everyone has needs that they struggle to cope with, some more than others. I went to Yoga this morning and there were quite a lot of yogi students there. =) For all I know the attendees are going through some rough patches. I don’t know for certain but one never knows what goes through the mind of others. That’s why I always think it’s important to be nice to everyone, whether they’re the happiest person in the world or the most miserable.

  1. Over-Thinking Unnecessarily

I’ve grown wiser when it comes to making small talk with strangers. I still occasionally don’t understand jokes or understand banter. However, I’ve made some friends in my time and have started to understand their humour and personalities. By understanding them as people I’m able to get a better idea of the meaning behind their words and banter. Because of this I don’t get as sensitive or upset. Well, I’m still sensitive to a degree as it’s good to be understanding of others.

There’s currently nothing in life for me to worry about or get anxious about. However, the way my mind works is this… if there’s nothing for me to get anxious or worried about then my mind will home in to my subconscious and pick out something to worry about. Haha. Now, for example, I keep on getting worried about the Naruto anime. Before, in my mind, it was just small matters like, ‘oh dear, is Naruto going to die?’ and ‘it’s sad that the manga is coming to an end.’

But, because there’s nothing for me to worry about, I started to worry and become sad about Naruto ending. It’s becoming a bigger issue then it should. I’m very aware of how my mind works so every time these thoughts come into my mind I immediately counter attack it. Or, I imagine a box, put Naruto in that box, put it in water, and allow it to travel down the stream and drop down the waterfall. XD I also draw, write my story and listen to the Non Non Biyori soundtrack.

With a calm mind I’m able to think rationally and logically about Naruto. It’s indeed sad that the manga is ending but I’m watching the Naruto Shippuden anime so I don’t feel so bad. Right! That’s that situation sorted. 😉 No doubt these will become recurring thoughts but I always have battle plans in place. =)

  1. Anticipating the Future

What makes me over-think as well is when I anticipate future events. I don’t handle spur of the moments too well. I feel more anxious when I’m invited out on the spur of the moment rather than when something has been pre-arranged. With future outings I tend to picture the worst case scenario. I also get it in my head how I’m going to feel at the time and anticipate situations that I’m going to get into. Of course, I have learned over recent years that it’s better to take things as they come. Why anticipate a situation when we don’t know what’s going to happen in the future. With that thought in mind, I feel relaxed.

We’re living in the present so we should enjoy things in the moment regardless of what memories we created or what plans we have for the future. =)

  1. Random Fact

I keep on saying Great Almond Street instead of Great Ormond Street… I can’t seem to be able to get out of that habit no matter how many times I correct myself.

THANKS FOR READING

WarningYoga

I’m really enjoying Yoga and the instructor’s style of teaching. I feel really good now but I am certain I’m going to feel achy tomorrow. Haha. The Yogi instructor does a class on Monday mornings and I’m considering going to that class. But, that would mean me going to class by myself. I don’t think I’m ready for that at this moment in time.^^/

Thanks for reading.

Namaste.^^/

Ryan

One thought on “Negativity to Positivity: Over-Thinking

  1. Pingback: My First Year Blog Anniversary | Ryan's World

Leave a Reply

