Dressing up as the Shockmaster!

The Shockmaster

Spook Tidings!^^/

  1. The Idea

For Halloween I went to my brother’s Halloween party dressed as the Shockmaster.[1]

I decided to come as the Shockmaster since March, during the time when I watched WWE Wrestlemania with my Brother and co., everyone was bantering and someone suggested that we all should go to the gathering dressed up as a wrestler, to mark the occasion. I decided at that moment that I was going to dress up as the Shockmaster since it would be funny and no one would suspect it. It was sort of last minute though, so I decided to put that idea on ice. But, then I had a thought… what if I was to dress up as that gimmick for Halloween? It would be amazing, I thought, and so I would bide my time until October…

October had arrived and my brother did indeed arrange a Halloween party for us all. But, I was then under the impression that my Brother decided not to hold a party this year so I decided not to pursue with the Shockmaster costume. It turns out that that I misunderstood, so, my costume idea was back on!

  1. The Items

The Shockmaster had a huge Stormtrooper Helmet which was covered in silver paint and sprayed with a lot of glitter. He also had a huge black fluffy coat and denim jeans.

Getting my hands on a Stormtrooper Helmet was difficult. I could have bought one off Ebay but I opted out of this. The ones I saw were very expensive and not local. Haha. Upon my Mum’s advice I went to a few local charity shops to see if they had any in stock. Big moment coming up…

Me and Dad went into a shop and browsed randomly for something entirely different. We both walked out and it occurred to me that we forgot to ask for a Stormtrooper Helmet! So, I went back inside the shop, and asked the lady at the till if she had any Stormtrooper helmets in stock. She went to have a look, came back, and said no. I sort of smiled and said ‘thanks for looking’… I didn’t really know what to do after that as situations like this doesn’t happen that often. I decided to say my byes and left the store. In hindsight, I think that was the best protocol action to take.^^/

Desperate times called for desperate measures… we had to make a Stormtrooper Helmet ourselves!

  1. The Making

I refer to ‘ourselves’ since my Mum kindly gave me a helping hand with the helmet.

First off, we measured my head with a bucket. Then, we used lots of newspaper and glued it onto the bucket. We had to keep leaving the layers to dry overnight, so, we’d often put them in an airing cupboard to leave them to dry. We decided that my face required room so we then added a fruit bowl underneath the top of the bucket. Plus, it adds stability.

When bits of newspaper were dry my Dad carefully lifted the dried newspapers from the bucket with ease. However… he couldn’t get the fruit bowl out! D=

After all this we covered the newspaper with a layer of brown paper. We then shaped the front bit of the helmet using cardboard tubes, covering them first in silver foil. Our next step was to spray paint the whole thing silver. When this was dry we painted the helmet with silver glitter glue to get that sparkly effect. Thus, on the morning of the Halloween party, it was officially complete!

  1. The Party and Reaction

I sort of had my doubts to be honest, I won’t lie. Whilst we all did the best we could the helmet did not look anything like a Stormtrooper Helmet nor did it look like the Shockmaster. Haha! We all had a good laugh at it though.

I think as long as it had the comical effect and it makes people laugh, it’s all good. It was why I decided to dress up as him in the first place, to make everyone laugh. =) Still, I must say though, people would probably mistake me for a darlik rather than some wrestler from the 90’s. Haha!

I walked to my Brother’s door, knocked on it, he opened up and I shouted “I’m going to SHOOOOCK YOOOOOOOOOU!!!” he laughed, Cheese laughed and everyone else laughed as well. Everyone laughed and the atmosphere was great. My job was done. As my job was done that meant me taking off my helmet! XD

  1. The Conclusion

It was a good evening. I spoke to a couple of new people and we have similar interests in common. I was happy to speak to these new people and I felt like I instigated the conversation at times. Good for me. =D I was a little bit under the weather and felt slightly nervous at knowing or not knowing who may or who may not be there. I did ok though.

THANKS FOR READING

 The Shockmaster 3

I had utmost fun doing the Shockmaster costume. In truth though if I had more time then I reckon I could have done a better job and come better prepared. I felt a little disheartened from time to time and took jokes from my parents perhaps a little too seriously. I did ok under the circumstances. In all honestly I would have been more anxious about the Halloween party had it not been for the more upcoming London trip the following day.

I will tell you all about my London trip in future blogs. It was a very significant moment in my life and I’m still feeling the after affects even now. Bear with me for a couple of days and I will fill you in all about it. Stay tuned. =)

Ps, you probably gathered that I spent the evening with a fruit bowl on my head, and you would be right! 😉

Thanks for reading.

Sayonara.^^/

Ryan

[1] The Shockmaster, portrayed by Fred Ottman, was a wrestling gimmick from the World Championship Wrestling promotion during the 1990’s. The Shockmaster made an infamous debut due to his falling incident during a WCW segment. Here is the Youtube clip that shows the incident: <http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y5oMiqJRVqs>

One thought on “Dressing up as the Shockmaster!

  1. Pingback: My First Year Blog Anniversary | Ryan's World

Leave a Reply

