High School DxD: Asia and Koneko’s Secret Contract!? Manga Review

Asia and Koneko Secret Contract Front Covetr

I’m now reviewing one of my many recent manga purchases. =D

  1. SYNOPSIS

Asia Argento, a former nun of the church, has been reincarnated into Rias Gremory’s bishop. Now she must grant the requests of her clients with the help of fellow devil and Rias’ rook, Koneko Toujou. Can these two devils grant the desired wishes of their clients or will the devil’s work prove too much for them to handle?

  1. THEME
  • Comedy
  • Ecchi[1]
  • Fantasy
  • Seinen[2]
  1. REVIEW

WARNING: I MAY GIVE SPOILERS AWAY

The main series is not exactly serious like Attack on Titan but it’s not on the cheesy side either. For me High School DxD has the correct balance of humour, suspense, action and fanservice. In this spin-off it’s just plain humour and full of light-hearted cuteness.

I know that this is technically a spin-off but I feel like this could have easily happened in the main story. Since the protagonist is Issei it’s usually always from his point of view as the story mainly revolves around him. But in this story it revolves around Asia and it’s from her own point of view. This spin-off gives us the idea the sort of jobs Asia undertakes with the help of Koneko.

The art is impeccably cute and it especially highlights the demure and gentle personality of Asia. The art I think has that effect on all the characters. Usually I think Rias is hot but I just find her too cute in the story to think “hubba, hubba” and wail like a wolf. Haha. The front cover told me straight away that this was not going to be a serious story. Whilst it’s not overly serious I find it just as enjoyable as the main story.

I like it how Asia wears her habit. She seemed to have pretty much ditched this in the main story. But by wearing this in this particular manga it highlights her innocence more, since being reincarnated into a devil. I seem to think that all of this happened between Asia being revived and Riser’s introduction. Then again, this could have easily happened any time, but only after Asia was reincarnated into Rias’ bishop.

All the tasks are very simple and the system has similar principles to callisthenics where the clients would stamp on the devil’s piece of paper. Asia needs to get so many stamps and smiles so she can qualify as a devil. She may be fragile and gentle but she has shown that she is willing to go out of her comfort zone like dressing up in various outfits and performing in front of a group of children.

The fanservice was tamer then I expected but there were still cheeky moments in certain scenes, mostly in the hot springs chapter. It felt somewhat peculiar as Issei’s involvement was less frequent but I find it refreshing that the spotlight was on Asia. However, whilst he was just a supporting character he is still in her fantasy thoughts, so he’s still relevant in that manner.

  1. BONUS

There were a few 4-Koma[3] chapters and extra chapters that appear sporadically throughout this spin-off.

  1. CONCLUSION

This was very relaxing to read. This might be a spin-off but I feel that this could have easily have happened in the main story. The fanservice was much tamer then I thought it would be and the art was adorable. I nearly forgot that Koneko is the other main character of the story, and yet, I’ve been nattering about Asia all this time. Oh well!

I can read this hundreds of times and never tire of it. To me, this is a perfect spin-off of a perfect manga. =D

Two Thumb’s-Up.^^/ (My Rating System)

Two Thumbs-Up

THANKS FOR READING

Non Non Biyori Wallpaper

I’m looking forward to certain anime this year, especially High School DxD: Born which is going to air in April. Hopefully Crunchyroll will sub this. =) I think I’m going to enjoy KanColle. I’ve heard a lot about it and it appeals to me, so, I’m going to give it a watch. =)

Thanks for reading.
Sayonara.^^/

Ryan.

[1] This manga contains risqué and sexy moments or lecherous characters.

[2] The target audience of this manga is towards an older gentleman with the age range from 18 to 30.

[3] 4-Koma (also known as four cell manga and Yonkoma Manga) consist of comic strips of four panels on each page.

2 thoughts on “High School DxD: Asia and Koneko’s Secret Contract!? Manga Review

Leave a Reply

