Happy Mother’s Day

Victoria Sponge Cake

Today has been a good day. I bought Mum the cutting mat that you use for sewing. Just like the thing they use for Great British Sewing Bee. I also moon-pigged her a card and drew Renge from Non Non Biyori as she finds her really cute.

On the spur of the moment I decided to bake a Victoria Sponge Cake for Mum since it’s her favourite kind of cake, with reliable help from my Brother.

We had no margarine so me and my brother went to Tescos to pick up the rest of the ingredients that we didn’t already have. I also bought the blue food colouring. Why did I do that? I’ll tell you in a second. 😉

I wanted to do a Victoria sponge cake but I was wondering if I could spice things up a little bit and make it a bit different. I had an epiphany. What if, I coloured the sponge cake blue? Blue is Mum’s favourite colour so perhaps she would appreciate it more if it was coloured blue. So, through sensible discussion with my brother we deduced together that this would be a good idea. =D

We filmed three parts of it. We called it ‘Baking with Ryan.’ During the second clip I added the blue food colouring whilst whisking. We discovered that we didn’t really know what we were doing so we looked at the label. We found out that you should only use one tea spoon, you should shake it well and, most importantly, it doesn’t mix well with baking… You can probably guess by now that we didn’t bear any of this in mind! Haha!

It proved to be a potential problem when we put it in the oven. Usually, you can tell when a Victoria sponge cake is done when it turns a healthy brown. But, because we added a lot of blue to the flavour it was difficult to gauge. So, we had to use our nose to know when the cake was ready… before it got burned! Haha.

Right at the end it turned out to be pretty good! I was very proud of it. I think we both did a really good job with the experiment baking. It tasted really nice, and my Mum approved, which was the most important thing. The picture you see right at the top is the cake that we baked together. I’m not going to lie though… I wish it was more blue! Haha!

Happy Mother’s Day, everyone.^^/

Ryan

Leave a Reply

