Solar Eclipse: Then and Now

Solar Eclipse

Good Morning.^^/

  1. THEN

I remember the first time I saw the Solar Eclipse. It was back in 1999.

It was arranged for my class to go on a trip to the countryside to see the Solar Eclipse take place. Lots of other people went to this countryside too. We had to wear these special glasses to protect our eyes from the sun. To me, those glasses seemed more appropriate for cinema use rather than star gazing. Haha.

I remember the advert that involved the teacher and her primary school students. It was advertising Jaffa cakes but it was relevant to the Solar eclipse. She kept on eating these Jaffa cakes to demonstrate how the Solar Eclipse works. She said “Full moon!” and took half a bite of the Jaffa cake. She then said “Half moon!” and eat the other half of the Jaffa cake. She then said “Total Eclipse!” and she eat the whole Jaffa cake. The children then had to repeat her words. It was really funny. Does anyone else remember that advert?

I remember this one particular situation when I was at that countryside. I saw these two lads, both in white tops, walking past me. They both seemed nervous. I thought nothing more of it. I was too busy trying to comfort my eyes from looking at the sun too much. Haha.

This gentleman then came up to my teachers and asked if they have seen these certain lads that he was looking for. He described what they look like and his descriptions matched the same lads that I saw walking past me from moments ago. So, I said “they went up there” and I pointed in the direction that I saw them go. All the teachers looked at me, laughed and told me not to make things up. They apologised to the gentleman and told him that they didn’t know where they were…

I was somewhat frustrated at that moment, because I knew that I was right. Five minutes later, he came back and told us all that the lads he was looking for was “up ahead”. This meant that I was right. The teachers apologised to me at that moment. I think this was probably the first time that I received an apology from an adult. It was very weird but in a good way. To me this meant that even adults make mistakes, not just children. I was very happy. =)

I saw the Solar Eclipse with my very eyes at that moment, and saw a beautiful crimson red shining around it.

This was a very good moment. This marked the last time that the solar eclipse would happen in that Millennium, and I saw it happen. =)

  1. NOW

The Solar Eclipse that happened today was as lovely as I remember it from 1999. I snapped a few decent shots with my phone camera, although the dark clouds did get in the way. Getting a good shot was quite difficult. I still like the photos that I snapped though. =)

I was squinting towards the sun a couple of times. I couldn’t look at it directly since it wouldn’t be healthy for the eyes. At that very moment I saw a red crimson circle shining the moon and sun. I think you call this the diamond ring. I don’t understand the terms correctly but I’m pretty sure that this is called the diamond ring. I saw this from the garden of my house. The moon was moving really fast, much faster then I remember from last time.

I’ll share this one picture with you that I snapped personally. It’s not the clearest but it’s the best that I could do. =)

20150320_092046

THANKS FOR READING

Non Non Biyori Wallpaper

As of right at this moment, as I’m looking up at the sun again, it looks like Pacman is trying to eat the clouds. Haha! I’m now going to take this time to comfort my eyes and have a good look at my phone. The camera part of my phone stopped working. Whoops! Haha.

Thanks for reading. =)

Namaste.^^/

Ryan

Leave a Reply

