The Testament of Sister New Devil Anime Review

The Testament of Sister New Devil Anime

  1. SYNOPSIS

Basara is finding it difficult that his dad remarried, worse yet, his family has welcomed two step-sisters, Mio and Maria Naruse. Whilst he continues to try and adapt to this sudden change Jin Toujou, the Dad, announces that he is going overseas to work. If these events weren’t bad enough Basara then discovers the true identity of his step-sisters who are actually a Demon Lord and a Succubus!

  1. THEME
  • Action
  • Comedy
  • Ecchi[1]
  • Fantasy
  • Harem[2]
  • Mature
  • Romance
  • School
  • Seinen[3]
  1. REVIEW

WARNING: I MAY GIVE SPOILERS AWAY

I noticed that there are quite a lot of anime these days that have “heroes” and “demon lords” as the focus of the story. These themes and settings appear to be popular with Japan. I’ve seen quite a few anime that involve heroes and demon lords such as Yusibu, The Devil is a Part-Timer and Maoyu. I thought that this show is going to similar so I didn’t really watch it straight away. Once I did, I was hooked.

Mio keeps reminding me of Rias Gremory from High School DxD. I know they’re completely different characters but I do think that their circumstances are similar. Mio is the demon lord whilst Rias is the younger sister of the current Demon King. Mio’s hair is red, Rias also has red hair. Mio has recently established a master-servant pact with Basara and Rias has sort of done that with Issei. Both of these anime have severely cheeky moments time, and it’s mostly involving Mio.

Maria was sneaky when she reversed the roles of the master-servant pact between Basara and Mio. I say sneaky but it could count as a clever plot, depending on how you look at it. From that point on Mio became Basara’s “slave” but because she didn’t kiss his hand she suddenly started to suffer from the “side effects”. Basara often has to make Mio “submit” by…well, calming her down. Or, if you look at it another way, he was satisfying her cravings. She probably wouldn’t have to go through this if Maria didn’t set up this pact by using her succubus powers. Still, it’s pretty entertaining to watch and it doesn’t happen all the time, just every now and again. =)

The master-servant pact is most unique, especially when it’s not done correctly. A tattoo of some sort of a heart with a line appears around the neck. It only appears whenever Mio is stressed and Basara must make her “submit” to calm her down and to make the tattoo disappear. Basara’s childhood friend, Yuki, didn’t want to be outdone, so she went through the exact same procedure as Mio. Talk about a healthy competition. Haha.

Moments and innuendoes but it also has a lot of exciting action. One of the fights took up an entire episode and that was good to watch.

I enjoy the fights. In my opinion the goodies, Basara and co, are strong but they always seem weak when they’re fighting their opponents. Whenever Basara squares off against Zolgia I always get the distinct impression that he will never come out on top. So, it seems like the goodies are always at a disadvantage but they manage to win either through luck or through sudden bursts of adrenaline.

I did have my suspicious about Maria from episode 8 onwards. I wasn’t sure if she was involved in some sort of blackmail or if she was acting as a double agent. It turns out that she was blackmailed into helping the enemy because her Mum was held captive. I’m glad she turned out to be part of the good side in the end. =)

I liked the ending of this show. It was rather unique. Basara left Zolgia to kill the ultimate enemy. I refer to him as the ultimate enemy as I forgot his name. Haha. I’ll probably remember once I’ve uploaded this blog. Haha. Anyway, I’m glad Zest didn’t die and I think she will probably be the next lady to undergo a master-servant pact with Basara in the next season. I think Kurumi will also undergo this master-servant pact next season. It’s not a matter of if, it’s a matter of when.

I’m really looking forward to the next season, The Testament of Sister New Devil Burst. Right at the end Jin Toujou confronts the current Demon Lord. I’m a bit gutted we didn’t see that fight, I reckon it would have been really good. Judging by the post-credit pictures at the end it looks like Basara actually fights the Demon Lord. I like his green fringe as well. Does this mean that the Demon Lord actually beats Jin? Does he actually kill him? Eep, I dread to think. I’m also interested to see what role Chisato will play. I think she is the most mysterious character of the show because she appears be very wise yet very discreet.
What I liked most about this show is the bonds between Basara and his “family.” Basara, Mio and Maria show that you don’t have to be blood related to be siblings or to be family. Now, it looks like Yuki is part of Basara’s family too. That’s a nice touch to end the series. I wonder how long it will be until Zest comes back to Basara’s house?

  1. CONCLUSION

One Thumb’s-Up and a Pinky.^^/ (My Rating System) (My Anime Rankings)

Thumbs-UpPinky

THANKS FOR READING

Mio, Maria and Yuki

It was announced a few weeks ago that Seven Seas have licensed the manga of this and are going to release the first volume some time in 2016. I’m looking forward to this. =)

I’m probably going to continue this trend involving heroes and demon lord as I’m going to write a review of Yusibu very soon. =)

Thanks for reading. =)
Sayonara.^^/

Ryan.

[1] This manga contains risqué and sexy moments or lecherous characters.

[2] In this manga all the ladies are gunning after one man and/or lady.

[3] The target audience of this manga is towards an older gentleman with the age range from 18 to 30.

One thought on “The Testament of Sister New Devil Anime Review

  1. Pingback: My Anime Rankings | Ryan's World

Leave a Reply

