Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? Episode One Thoughts

Is It Wrong to Try to Pick up Girls in a Dungeon anime

I really enjoyed the first episode. It’s been a while since I’ve been excited for a new anime. My memory tells me that this episode covers 3-4 chapters from the Light Novel volume one. The first bit when Aiz saves Bell from that Minotaur is actually the prologue from the LN.[1]

Aiz is exactly how I pictured in my head. She’s super strong when she’s in battle mode but has a sweet innocent side when she’s not. I tend to have a thing for girls when they struggle to express themselves, and it looks like Aiz fits that category nicely. Naturally, Bell fell for her. I get the impression that Aiz is most vulnerable, if she ever lets her guard down, when it comes to eating. Food is the weakness for most people in the world.

I do like how Bell is perceived in the anime. He acts like a young boy who is full of enthusiasm and curiosity. He’s more innocent then I perceived him and I’m glad the anime made him this way. I felt sorry for him at times, especially when that cat dude was making fun of him. I don’t think there was any shame of being scared of that Minotaur. He can use that experience as a platform to get stronger. =) I must confess though, it was pretty funny when he ran through the street covered in a Minotaur’s blood. XD Eina’s lovely. She acts like an older sister, I think.

I’m glad the elf girl with green hair scolded the cat hair. I think her name is Riveria. She even punished him by suspending him in the air. I don’t remember that happening in the LN, so I better re-read the first volume. I really like her voice, it’s like she’s got a bit of a animalistic rasp whenever she speaks.

Hestia is much cuter and bubblier then I pictured from the Light Novels. I really like her voice; I think its spot on. She sounds like a more mature yet flirtier version of Mirai from Locodol. They are voiced by the same person, Inori Minase. Her facial expressions and reactions are really cute too, especially when she’s in teasing mode and jealous mode. Even if she does act hyper at times I do think she has a mature side, and we saw it when she carried Bell back to the bed. I liked her reaction to Bell when he “accepted” Hestia’s invitation to sleep in the same bed. Haha… Did anyone else notice how Hestia’s hand was on Bell’s bum? That was a convenient fall to my estimation. Haha.

I like Syr a lot more than I thought I would. In the Light Novels I sort of pictured her as demure as Yukimura from Haganai. However, in the anime she is bubblier than I thought she would be. I like her even more, and I thought it was sweet that she gave Bell her lunch so he wouldn’t starve. Slap a ring around her. Haha. Wait… what about Hestia and Aiz? I would say, slap a ring around them as well! Haha.

That’s the great thing of this show now. I can read the first book again and I would be able to appreciate it a lot more. I made my predictions what I thought the War Shadows were going to look like… I was dead wrong. Haha!

I like this show already. I’ve watched the same episode twice. I couldn’t contain my excitement when I saw this for the first time. Bell’s goal seems to be picking up girls in a dungeon and being their knight in shining armour. However, so far, he is the damsel in distress and Aiz is his knight in shining armour. I hardly think that matters though. It doesn’t matter what roles someone plays in the relationship, as long as it’s healthy and loving. =) I wonder if he will be able to interact with Aiz again?

Bell’s ability “Realis Phrase” is also unique and I think this gives him a nice balance in terms of ability of strength. This gives him the opportunity to grow stronger and he has improved his stats already upon his encounter with Aiz, much to Hestia’s dismay. Haha.

The opening song is pretty good. I try not to watch them in case I get spoiled. I liked the way Bell and Hestia brushed their teeth and swayed in unison. That brought a smile to my face.

I’m looking forward to the next episode, and I sincerely hope at some point that the anime will air the epilogue from the LN. The epilogue is touching and nearly brought a tear to my eye. =)

THANKS FOR READING

DanMachi

I’m now going to spend the rest of the day watching Football. The first game is Arsenal vs Liverpool. I’m looking forward to that game, it will be epic. =D

However, for now, I’m going to watch Food Wars. I’ve heard a lot of good things about that manga but instead of reading the manga, I decided to give the anime a watch first. =)
Thanks for Reading. =)
Sayonara.^^/

Ryan.

[1] LN is the abbreviation for Light Novel.

One thought on “Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? Episode One Thoughts

  1. Pingback: Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? Anime Review | Ryan's World

Leave a Reply

