Food Wars: Shokugeki no Soma Episode One Thoughts

Food Wars Shokugeki no Soma

I honestly didn’t know what to expect from Food Wars, but I certainly wasn’t prepared for what I did see in the first episode. Haha.

Soma likes to experiment with his food for his family’s restaurant. Sometimes his experiments pay off but sometimes they’re just plain awful, like the squid tentacles covered in peanut butter. Haha. I like him already. When it comes to experimenting with food and cuisine, I can relate. I used to blend in plenty of different fruit and food together in the food blender to create something different. Me and my brother even came up with our own recipe, Triple Decker Crisp Sandwich. Haha. Basically, you get three layers of bread, spread margarine on each piece, and fit as many crisps as you can in them. On Mother’s Day, I even baked a Victoria Sponge cake and added blue food colouring and the cake came out a tinge of blue. =D I was really proud that it came out just right. =)

Ahem- back to the show.

Mayumi reacted very negatively when she was fed the squid tentacles smothered in peanut butter. I wasn’t expecting a kinky visualisation of her being “attacked” by tentacles. I kind of clocked on from then that whenever the girls eat their food they’re going to describe the taste in very erotic and over the top ways. Haha. We found out right at the end that she did enjoy it somewhat, even if it was not edible. I suspect straight away that she has feelings for Souma, or at least has a soft spot for him. Either way, she’s going to support him. =)

I also found out that Mayumi’s voice actor also voices Sento Isuzu from Amagi Brilliant Park. =D I would never have guessed. I also come to learn that she voices a certain character from the new anime of this season, High School DxD Born. =)

That meat looking dish that Soma did for the attractive Yaeko does look tasty and it’s not surprising when she gave in to temptation. When she first appeared in the show I actually thought she was trying to seduce Souma since she was paying him attention and not the Dad. I wonder why she ignored the Dad. Surely she would try to negotiate with the owner of the restaurant, I.E. the Dad, rather than Soma.

Whatever tricks she tried it didn’t work. I admire Soma for keeping his cool and act together. Not many young people would be able to compose themselves or think rationally in that type of situation. It’s not often you see a fifteen year old coming out on top against four grown adults. I did feel sorry for him at the end. All that hard work of trying to keep the shop from running out of business and his Dad tells him that he’s closing up the shop… It was pretty funny to watch. Haha.
I’m pleased that he was sent to the top cuisine school in the whole of Japan, and it looks like there are a few who have already failed to get in. Oh dear. I have good confidence that Souma will do himself justice, so I’m not worried.

I did laugh and cringe a couple of times whenever I saw the erotic visualisations of the eaters enjoying or not enjoying their food. I think the funniest visualisation came right at the end when Erina eat her food. I genuinely thought she was underneath a waterfall and I laughed really, really hard when a jukebox out of nowhere hit her head. I was like ‘where did that come from?’ It turns out that this is exactly what she was imagining when she was eating her food. XD

In some ways, this show does remind me of the Senran Kagura: Bon Appetit game. I have noticed in a lot of anime, when someone eats their food they tend to over-describe the taste in cute or funny ways. I think I’m going to really enjoy Food Wars. I’m looking forward to episode two. =)

THANKS FOR READING

Soma and Erina

Easter Monday is very relaxing so far. I’m looking forward to the Crystal Palace and Man City match. I have a feeling that Crystal Palace are going to have a good game this evening, but whether they’ll win remains to be seen.
Thanks for Reading. =)
Sayonara.^^/

Ryan.

Leave a Reply

