Food Wars: Shokugeki no Soma Episode Three Thoughts

Food Wars Shokugeki no Soma

I really do like Megumi. She is very sweet girl who lacks a lot of confidence and self-esteem. She went to the Tootsuki Culinary Academy to make her family proud only to end up failing upon her first exam. Haha. Her shocked expressions are cute and endearing. I’m just really pleased that she was able to pass Roland Chapelle’s test along with Soma.

I’m impressed with how quickly Soma adapts to the situation. Some of the current students appear to be out to get him. All except for Megumi, who until now, has simply just been trying to avoid him rather than degrade him. However, Soma didn’t feel sorry for himself he just got on with it. It turns out that his additional recipe, the honey, made that beef extra delicious. Megumi’s extravagant visualisation was quite… funny. I kind of knew at that point that she was going to be covered in honey. I didn’t anticipate that there were going to be little Somas, disguised as bees, pouring honey on her. Haha.

Those mean students eventually got their come-uppance. I’m really pleased about that. It makes Soma and Megumi’s victory that much sweeter. The best part of all is that Soma didn’t retaliate or care about the other students who tried to mess with his cooking. All he cared about was his own dish and working together with Megumi. I think that’s a very good attitude to have.

Soma is still showing his crazy quirks by force feeding Megumi squids glazed in honey… it reminds me of that line General Melchett spoke in the last episode of Blackadder Goes Forth.[1] Haha. Poor, poor Megumi… mind you, it might be naïve of me to feel sorry for her. She probably secretly liked it, just like Mayumi did when Soma force fed her that weird girl. Haha.

I think Erina is being somewhat in denial. I think she secretly likes Soma’s cooking but her pride is preventing her from being true to her own feelings. Her resentment towards Soma is probably going to grow deeper for the next couple of episodes. The sheer name of him makes her go bananas, and in a most humorous way. Haha. Soma doesn’t appear to care about being disliked or resented. Either that or he’s too much of a scatterbrain to even notice. Haha.

I don’t think Soma will take Erina’s spot as the number one chef at the academy just yet. He still has a long way to go and he probably needs to overcome many odds before that happens.

I wonder what Erina’s grandfather’s relationship is with Soma. Do they have a link that we don’t know about yet? It seems that he is the only one who is behind Soma being at this academy. I think that’s really cool as he clearly doesn’t care about Soma’s status in life. Being lowbrow or highbrow is completely irrelevant as long as the student can cook delicious food, and Soma has proven that. Soma’s dad is quite famous so perhaps Erina’s granddad knows him personally? Thus, that is why he is lenient with Soma and giving him a chance when everyone else isn’t.

I felt that this episode ended much too fast… that’s how much I enjoyed this episode. =)

THANKS FOR READING

FA Cup Trophy

I started watching Yamada-kun and the Seven Witches episode one not so long ago. I think its ok so far and there were some humorous moments in it and I will probably watch more. I don’t have any particular enthusiasm to write a separate blog about episode one so I just thought I’d mention it here. =)

Monster Musume Volume 6 came at my house last night. I’ve not had the chance to read any of it yet as I’ve had a busy day watching The Premier League games and the FA Cup Semi-Final between Arsenal and Reading. I feel sorry for Federeci for letting in the goal like that. He looked completely devastated and hopefully it won’t become a stigma in years to come.

I knew Arsenal would beat Reading and reach the final, but who will join them? Will it be Liverpool or Aston Villa? I think Villa are going to give it a real good goal but will come up short. I think the score will be 2-1 to Liverpool.

Thanks for Reading. =)
Sayonara.^^/

Ryan.

[1] Blackadder Goes Forth was a British Sitcom in the 1980s. The character General Melchett was played by Stephen Fry.

Leave a Reply

