Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? Episode Three Thoughts

Is It Wrong to Try to Pick up Girls in a Dungeon anime

This episode had everything. I thought it was both heart-warming and exciting. This episode covers the whole of chapter six from the first Light Novel of DanMachi.[1] I was really pleased with how this whole scenario was animated. I felt it was all completely spot on.

Did anyone else enjoy the way that Bell was carrying Hestia? I know I certainly did. It’s just like Hestia to forget the bigger picture. Haha.

Before I go on I need to ask myself… Is it me or did Aiz just smile? I thought there was dust in my eye but it turns out that what I saw wasn’t dust but Aiz’s smile. I think her smile is sweet and genuine. I didn’t picture her to be a smiling type, and I certainly don’t recall her smiling in the first LN[2] book. I thought she was going to be like Saber and Ayaka Kagari in which we would never see her smile. Yet, I can happily say that I have witnessed it in this episode.

I do wonder if they could have shown Freya in more scenes. In the book it showed her more sadistic side and how twisted her mind was. I especially would have liked to see that side of her but so far we’ve only seen glimpses of what she’s really like as a person, well, Goddess. It’s not too much of a big deal as I enjoyed this episode very much.

Bell’s growth is pretty cool, and I’m not just talking about his fighting abilities. Whilst he still lacks some confidence he didn’t just run away from that silverback, he sort of lured him away from Hestia so she could be safe. He probably did give up a little bit too easily but I just bear in mind that he’s only 15. Realistically most lads of that age would be cowardly in that situation.

I like the mechanics behind his new blade, the Hestia Knife. I think Hestia had to basically write her own symbols and attach pieces of her hair into that knife in order to make the knife work for Bell. If I recall correctly, they’re called hieroglyphs.

There were parts of the epilogue of the first LN book that were animated. They were shown in still picture frames and when Bell met Hestia for the first time. I really do hope we get an OVA or a special episode which concentrates on the epilogue because I really like it. =) I didn’t know that his Granddad was killed by an unidentified monster but I did get the impression by what Bell said to Hestia that his Granddad was dead.

The fight between Bell and that silverback was cool but I especially liked the ending part of the episode. I did gasp when Hestia fainted but I secretly knew it was because she was tired, so I probably wasn’t as worried as I should have been.

It was sweet when Syr whispered to Bell that she fell in love when he beat that monster and he heard that very clearly. I think Bell, unlike most blokes, does process those little hints but he probably doesn’t over-think them. Like the part from episode one when Hestia mentioned that she wouldn’t mind living alone with Bell. I think Bell took that on board but he probably didn’t read into what she said.

Then we have the part where Bell goes into Hestia’s room and has a nice one-to-one time. He got teary and hugged her. That was a really nice moment. I especially liked it when Hestia said that she loved him. That could have been interpreted either way. However I interpret it is irrelevant as Bell’s bond with Hestia is endearing.^^/

Hestia looked good in that alternative maid outfit. Does this mean that she’s going to work for Hephaistos now? Or, was she just playing dress up? I wonder who that “supporter” was. I recognise her but I don’t know who she is yet. I’m pretty sure I’ll find out more about her in the next episode. =)

OFF-TOPIC: MONSTER MUSUME NEWS

 Monster Musume TV

The voice cast has been announced for the Monster Musume anime. Judging by the current line-up so far, it looks like they’re going with a young cast.

Sora Amamiya is going to voice Miia. Her more well-known roles probably include Akame from Akame ga Kill, Kaori Fujimiya from One Week Friends and Elizabeth Liones from The Seven Deadly Sins. I heard her briefly voicing Kaori and she sounds like she has a sweet yet clear voice. Her singing vocals sound lovely too. I wish her great luck. =D

Ari Ozawa is going to play Papi. I’m particular excited about this role as Ari played Chiyo Sakura from Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun as well as Millicas Gremory from High School DxD BorN. She portrayed Sakura as very sweet who can be very sensitive from time to time. She actually comes close to how I picture Papi’s voice to sound. I think she will be great. =)

Natsuki Aikawa is going to play the role of Cerea. She voiced Petra Ral from Attack on Titan. I quite liked Petra, she sounded like a good leader, brave, sincere and caring. I’m looking forward to hearing Natsuki voicing Cerea. =)

The producers will be Lerche and TOHO animation. I’m neutral about the staff announcements but I’m pleased that manzo is going to get involved in the music side. He was part of the music staff in the anime Is This a Zombie? and performed a duet for the ending song with Rie Yamaguchi. She performs the role as Taeko Hiramatsu in that same show.

THANKS FOR READING

Bell and Aiz Artwork Endcard

Up until now I knew everything that was going to happen based on what I read from the Light Novel book one. I won’t have a clue what’s going to happen from episode four onwards.

However, my copy of the Is It Wrong to Try to Pick up Girls in a Dungeon? volume 2 should come within the next couple of days. If it comes before episode 4 airs then I could read the whole book two so I can keep on top. That and I just can’t wait to get my own copy. =)

Thanks for reading. =)

Sayonara.^^/

Ryan.

[1] DanMachi is the abbreviation of Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?

[2] LN is the abbreviation of Light Novel.

One thought on “Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? Episode Three Thoughts

  1. Pingback: Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? Anime Review | Ryan's World

Leave a Reply

