Monster Musume Volume Six Review

Monster Musume Volume 6 Cover

I really like the anime character designs for Miia, Cerea and Papi. I think they look really cute and I actually spent the entire day illustrating Miia. Every time I read MonMusu[1]  or any other of my favourite manga, I get a big urge to draw a character or two. At this moment, I spent some time drawing Miia and I’m really pleased with its progress so far. =)

  1. SYNOPSIS

The Hunter has become the Helpless! After Kimihito helped out the self-proclaim Grim Reaper it came to light that she descended upon this “realm” for one goal in mind. Her goal is Kimihito’s life.

  1. THEME
  • Comedy
  • Ecchi[2]
  • Fantasy
  • Harem[3]
  • Mature
  • Romance
  • Seinen[4]
  • Slice of Life[5]
  • Supernatural
  1. REVIEW

WARNING: I MAY GIVE SPOILERS AWAY

The Technicolour side-story was awesome. It’s really fun to see the liminals taking part in Rachnera’s bondage play, albeit, against their will. I didn’t think it was physically possible to bind Miia’s whole body, but I was proven wrong. Of course Mero enjoyed it as she’s a masochist. It makes sense that Suu couldn’t be held in a web bind. At this moment in time I can’t see a weakness in Suu. Well, that’s not quite true, if she falls into a huge lake or water, she dies. So, that’s probably her one and only weakness.

Back on subject.

In those dialogue panels where it was narrating the action, I sort of pictured David Attenborough’s[6] voice. It’s his sort of niche so I can see him going all the way to Japan and commentate for a BBC documentary. Haha. In all seriousness though, I think David would be among the first people in the world to welcome and accept the liminals with arms open wide… not before me though!

I was really excited when the Dullahan lady made her appearance. I’ve been waiting for a Dullahan to appear for a very long time. I began to wonder what sort of character she was going to be. Was she going to be scary? Serious yet sensitive? It took me a while to figure out the things that she was saying. It was like she was speaking in modern poetry. Her speech actually added to her menacing yet beautiful appearance.

I did enjoy the comedy and bondage moments but I found that I was more focused and gripped with the whole Dullahan character. I personally think that Lala, the Dullahan, splits personality when the head is detached from the rest of the body. I think the head is the main personality and when it leaves the body the body becomes meek and defenceless. Literally.

Poor Miia. I should start a faint count. It was pretty funny when all the liminals were questioning the existence of Dullahans whether they’re real or belong in a fantasy. I don’t think any of the monster girls should question the existence of other monster girls. Haha.

It got more intense and exciting after that. Lala is going to reap Kimihito’s soul and all the monster girls were determined to save him. However… they are the ones who are causing him to be on the brink of death all the time. I burst out laughing at the part where Cerea proclaimed that she will protect Kimihito…only to punch him accidentally. That was really funny. It was also funny when Cerea was dragging him along the street whilst she was running. She was too caught up in her own thoughts to notice. Haha.

I wonder how Lala was able to catch up to Cerea so quickly. A teleport ability? I’m not sure what to make of Mero… She wanted to breed with Kimihito and have his baby before he died. That’s a bit steep. Even if it is funny. Like everyone else she was too caught up in the moment.

I did get touched when Miia offered her own life to Lala so she could be with Kimihito when he gets reaped… turns out; it was all an act on Lala’s part. Kimihito somehow recognised this and just played along with it. He related strongly to Lala’s playful attitude as he liked to dress up and play a character of his own back when he was in middle school. I wonder how serious he was when he suggested to Miia that they should get married if they “make it out alive.”

I really did enjoy the food shopping chapter. I sort of learned that a centaur’s taste buds are more sensitive than a human’s, whilst a carnivore’s taste buds, like Miia, are less sensitive. Sensitive is probably the wrong word to describe taste buds but I know what I mean and that’s all that matters. Haha. It was amusing how the story was describing Miia’s cooking problem.

I do wonder about Mero’s background. She emits a humongous aura of royalty no matter where she goes. It was very considerate of those market people to pack up their stock so they don’t offend the liminals. Mero and Papi wouldn’t really care since their cannibals and eat chickens and fish. Haha. Cerea wouldn’t eat anything flesh since she a vegetable lover. I didn’t think you could eat horse meat though, but apparently Japan sometimes sells them at market stores.

It was a really sweet gesture on Suu’s part to try and take the strain from Kimihito. However, since she is part of his family Kimihito is not prepared to give Suu any less. It was really humorous when she started to be blunt and rude after she consumed poison. I was bit surprised at first since being rude is very out of character. I didn’t expect Draco to make an appearance like that. It was a good job that Suu was by Kimihito’s side. I wonder how long Draco will have to serve her probation.

It’s great to see the M.O.N squad. I didn’t think I would see them in this volume. It was pretty comical when Kimihito shoved his face in Suu’s body. I wasn’t sure if it was out of annoyance or out of disbelief. Kimihito could have been reimbursed plenty of times but Ms Smith, being unreliable as ever, never told him this. They went to the Okayado restaurant and got banned for life after dining for a couple of days… That was pretty amusing. =D

I think Rachnera is mentally strong. When I think about it she’s probably the most mature and street wise out of all the liminal guests that live under Kimihito’s roof. She’s the most cunning too which is probably why she is able to catch Miia and co in her webs so easily. I thought that Ren girl wanted Rachnera back out of guilt, but really it seemed like she wanted her back as she feels like it’s her responsibility. She took all these “trials” she set herself whilst unintentionally insulting all the residents. Haha. In all seriousness she was treating Rachnera more like a nuisance than a house guest. She was handling the whole situation wrong. Kimihito played it very cool.

I nearly forgot that Miia, Papi and Cerea all received letters at the same time as Rachnee. I always wanted to see what their Mums were like in personality and appearance. I’m now twiddling my thumbs in anticipation. =D

  1. CONCLUSION

Two Thumbs Up.^^/ (My Rating System)

Two Thumbs-Up

THANKS FOR READING

Miia and Papi

The moment I picked this book up I read the whole volume in one swoop. I even went so far as to stay up half the night. So much for an early night, haha! I even re-read the whole book this evening.  The Omake Musume at the end with the sofa was great, as was the information about Lala the Dullahan. Lala’s a great addition to the MonMusu story. Volume 7 can’t come soon enough.^^/

Thanks for reading.
Sayonara.^^/

Ryan.

[1] MonMusu is the abbreviation for Monster Musume.

[2] This manga contains risqué and sexy moments or lecherous characters.

[3] In this manga all the ladies are gunning after one man and/or lady.

[4] The target audience of this manga is towards an older gentleman with the age range from 18 to 30.

[5] Every day mundane life.

[6] David Attenborough is a famous English broadcaster and naturalist.

Leave a Reply

