Food Wars: Shokugeki no Soma Episode Six Thoughts

Food Wars Shokugeki no Soma

Good grief. I knew that the new mean girl was going to have a face-off with someone from the Polar Star Dormitory but I never thought she would be facing Soma so soon. It was rather nice of Soma to prevent the closure of the Don R’s club, or at least delay the inevitable. Soma really is brave to challenge the new girl by competing against her at her own game, meat. Well, if you look at it another way, brave might not be the appropriate word. Haha.

Ikumi is quite a beauty and I really like her appearance style. What I especially like about her though is her voice. It’s like she growls softly and sensually in a hypnotic way. Through research I discovered that her voice actor, Shizuka Ishigami, also voices Syr Flover from DanMachi. Syr has a soft and sweet voice and she sounds nothing like Ikumi at all but they both delight my ears. =)

Anyway, I’m somewhat nervous for Soma. I really didn’t think they’d go against each other soon. Will this battle last a couple of episodes or will it just be one episode? It looks like Megumi is going to help out with Soma and Kanichi. In some ways Megumi does remind me of Stephanie Dola from No Game No Life. Like Stephanie, Megumi is forced to try things, participate in things and is on the end of insults.

On this occasion Soma dragged Megumi along to this Don R’s club and she actually inspired him to come up with a dish. Like Stephanie Dola, even if Megumi appears to be “useless” she has actually played an important part and inspired Soma. Soma, in turn, actually inspired Megumi to add a bit of honey into her own rice recipe for breakfast. Good for her! She really is a wife in the making. If I was Soma I would slap a ring around that but he’s too passionate about food to even care about romance… for now. I think Megumi is going to play a huge part in the upcoming battle, perhaps she’ll get over her stage fright with the help of Soma. =)

I don’t really like how Erina is crushing all the clubs for her own gain, even if she is a pretty face. She does make me laugh a lot so I don’t dislike her completely. Kanichi is pretty funny how he kept on losing confidence and how his big hair started to grow back when his confidence started to come back. Haha. I think he secretly enjoyed being backed up against the wall by Ikumi.

Megumi and Kanichi

Thanks for reading.

Sayonara.^^/

Ryan.

Leave a Reply

