Food Wars: Shokugeki no Soma Episode Seven Thoughts

Food Wars Shokugeki no Soma

Those don dishes look delicious. I really do wonder if these recipes and dishes actually exist in real life. I most certainly would love to try them out for myself if they really did.

Anyway, I’m glad Soma won in the end. I actually half-expected the battle between him and Ikumi to end in a draw. It’s a bonus that Soma won because it wiped the smirk from Erina’s face. I noticed something as well. Even though Soma is very confident in his abilities he’s actually very humble when he battles his opponents. I would have thought that he would gloat about his victory but he didn’t, in fact, he was actually very nice towards Ikumi and gave her an affectionate nickname.

I partly started to dislike Ikumi when I first saw her as I knew that she was somehow associated with Erina. I figured she’d be just as arrogant as she is. She did look down on Yuki because his ingredients were “cheap.” However, my opinion changed of her when she tasted Soma’s dish.

Her Father was horrible to her when he said that he wanted Ikumi, his daughter, to be strong and not be ladylike. He’s quite a jerk if you ask me. This was probably a traumatic experience that stemmed from her childhood and made her put on this act all this time. She put on this front of being tough and confident but really she was desperate to be herself. To me, so far, she has more redeeming features than Erina does and Soma has earned her respect, perhaps even more than that…

That bit at the end was hilarious. I actually thought that Soma was going to join the Don Research Society, but like Ikumi, I discovered that this was far from the truth. I actually feel really sorry for Ikumi as she was now required to join some club due to the conditions of the battle. Not only this but Soma, who laid down the conditions and the person who she wanted to see the most, ended up not joining… I’m sure she’ll get her chance to speak with him again though. I have no doubt about that. =)

Kanichi was especially funny when he kept on trying to pawn off his Don title to Soma and Ikumi. Honestly, if he has no interest in being the Don of his club than he might has well allowed Erina to use her authority to shut his club down. Haha. Perhaps he wants to be just a member and not have responsibility of a Don.

I liked how Soma used handmade picked plum paste and mixed it into the rice. Soma has shown in this episode as he has done in the previous episodes that the price tag doesn’t show its true value in the product. It’s how you bring out the best of the product with your skills, knowledge and creativity when cooking. I wonder if that paste was inspired by Megumi. I remember that Soma said that Megumi gave him a good idea for a recipe. I’m pretty confident to say that it’s probably that. =)

Urara is also funny. She pretends to act all cute and ladylike but really she’s a completely different person on the inside. Her eye catch is just as amusing.

THANKS FOR READING

Soma, Megumi, Ikumi and Kanichi Eyecatch

Judging by what I see in the preview it looks like that Soma’s next encounter involves an arrogant looking blonde dude with a chef’s hat. I hope Soma cuts him down to size, but not literally…

Thanks for reading. =)

Sayonara.^^/

Ryan.

Leave a Reply

