Super Clive Mendonca Day

Super Clive Mendonca Day

I have a Charlton related blog in mind that I was going to post next month but as today is Super Clive Mendonca Day I figured it would be appropriate to write a blog dedicated to Super Clive.

I started off as a Manchester United supporter but for some reason I’ve always had a soft spot for Charlton Athletic. I would silently cheer them on every time I saw them on Soccer Saturday. I would cheer for them loudly for the very first time when they played Sunderland in the Play-Offs 1998. I remember that day like it was yesterday.

Every time Sunderland scored I would run up to my room crying. But, every time Charlton scored my parents would beckon me and I would run down to be glued to the TV. I cheered for Charlton with all my might, I was especially cheering for the one and only Super Clive.

It was really nail-biting stuff when it came to penalties and I vividly remember Alan Curbishley shielding his face with his hands as he couldn’t bear to watch the penalties. Then came the moment when Sasa Ilic saved that penalty which won Charlton the game and thus earned them promotion to the Premiership. It was on that day, the Play-Offs 1998 that I realised there and then that I was actually a Charlton supporter. Super Clive then became my Football Hero. How many footballers can say that they’ve scored a Hat-Trick at Wembley? Not many, that’s for sure.

It’s a shame that Super Clive spent the rest of his career battling injuries which ultimately led to his retirement. I reckon he would have made a great player for the Premier League if he didn’t have so many injuries. I think he would have looked good in an England shirt too. =) Still, I will always remember him for being a great player for Charlton Athletic and scoring hat-tricks for fun. =)

THANKS FOR READING

I wonder if there will be any hat-trick heroes today between the Norwich and Middlesbrough game. Who will earn promotion to the Prem? I’m not sure of the score but I have a feeling that Boro will just edge it.

Thanks for reading. =)

Namaste.^^/

Ryan

Leave a Reply

