No Game No Life Anime Review

No Game No Life

  1. SYNOPSIS

In the world of the internet a legendary gamer plays online and is undefeated in all games, the username is called Blank. The real identity of this username is actually two siblings, Sora and Shiro. When they deduced that the world they live in is one “crappy game” a “God” has emerged. He invited them to live and play in his world, a world where everything is decided by games. Humanity is the weakest race in this alternative world and it is up to Sora and Shiro to become the “Saviours of Humanity.”

Will Sora and Shiro be up to the task or will it finally be GAME OVER for the pair…

  1. THEME
  • Adventure
  • Comedy
  • Ecchi[1]
  • Fantasy
  • Game
  • Supernatural
  1. REVIEW

WARNING: I MAY GIVE SPOILERS AWAY

I thought this anime was amazing and it’s definitely my kind of show. When I first watched No Game No Life I laughed a lot, but when I re-watched this I actually laughed much more than I did on the first occasion. And I enjoyed it just as much.

What I especially like, aside from the comedy, is the type of battles that take place. I always wanted to see a battle without the use of violence of physical punch up and No Game No Life offers just that. It’s like a battle of wits and intelligence as well as the use of mind games. Everything is literally decided through games and I really, really like that kind of concept. It’s unique but very refreshing.

The battles, which are never resolved with violence, are far from boring. I find them incredibly exciting and clever. There are scenes or little dialogue quips that often indicate a victory for Blank. When I’ve watched this show for the first I was amazed at how clever these hints were and I really like how the flow of the battles and story go. I like the sort of games that were played too. You could literally play any kind of game. Chess games suits Kurumi and the word game suits Jibril as she is the playful type who likes to mess around.

The last battle of the show was just brilliant and I especially liked how everyone kept on dodging and shooting each other. They kept on cancelling each other out. I was especially pleased that Izuna ended up having fun playing against Sora and Shiro. It’s nice to see that enemies can get along. Well, to be honest, I don’t think there are any enemies that exist in this show, they’re more like challengers. Izuna is a good example. She was playing a game to keep her country’s territory but I wouldn’t say she’s an enemy as she didn’t really do anything wrong. Her fellow countrymen didn’t do anything wrong either. They cheated in games but they could get away with it because they never get caught.

I like the concept that each chess piece represents certain life races, with Inmanity being in 16th place. I think Sora and Shiro want to conquer all the races so that when they come together, they can take on Tet, aka, God. He’s a cool customer Tet but I wonder if he held himself back when he played Blank in that chess game. All the other races are cool too. I especially like the elves and Fifi, but I also like Jibril and the Flugel race. It makes me curious what the higher ranked races are like, especially the Phantasm who appear to have their own travelling planet to stay on.

The Ex Deus no doubt will be incredibly strong but so far I get the impression that they’re acting like advisors for Tet. The Phantasm look to be a formidable race too. They have their own planet/land type thing that floats and travels in the air so they must be strong.

Sora and Shiro are actually quite interesting as individuals. For two people who do not blend in society well they certainly have adapted to this game world. It’s quite interesting how Sora was able to read situations and atmosphere as well as out-witting people. If someone lacks experience in society you would have thought he’d struggle to read the atmosphere and understand how people’s minds work. Perhaps he studied psychology and observed people. There’s a difference between observing people and interacting with them.

I seriously feel sorry for Steph. Sora and Shiro completely use her and humiliate her in many ways. It went to the point where they used her name as a derogatory term. Haha. I actually think Steph is the best character in this show and I really think she’s underrated and overlooked due to being a “Steph.” Whoops, I just insulted her by accident. Haha. I think it’s pretty funny how Steph’s Granddad resembles the same King from the deck of cards. Haha. =D

If Steph never existed in this show then Sora and Shiro would never have won many battles. And if it wasn’t for her Blank would have lost to Izuna. I think deep down I knew or more like I wanted, Steph to be the one that brings Blank victory. What I also like about Steph is her over the top reactions and when she was in a love-struck mode over Sora. I could literally not stop laughing when she banged her head on the tiles to the point where her head was bleeding. I was literally crying with laughter. =D

  1. CONCLUSION

Two Thumbs-Up.^^/ (My Rating System) (My Anime Rankings)

Two Thumbs-Up

THANKS FOR READING

Sora, Shiro, Steph and Jibril

I actually have a lot to say about No Game No Life and I originally intended to say more than what I already have. However, I believe I pretty much summed up my feelings in only a few paragraphs. Nothing more needs to be said. =)

Thanks for Reading. =)

Sayonara.^^/

Ryan.

[1] This manga/anime contains risqué and sexy moments or lecherous characters.

One thought on “No Game No Life Anime Review

  1. Pingback: My Anime Rankings | Ryan's World

Leave a Reply

