Triage X Anime Review

Triage X anime

I’m going to try something new with regards to reviewing anime. I’m not sure if it will work or not but it will certainly be worth a go. =)

  1. SYNOPSIS

Mochizuki General Hospital has the most skilled nurses in town. Inside the hospital, the nurses heal their patients, but outside the hospital, they battle a different kind of “cancer.” These “cancers” are groups of mafias and other evil organisations who threaten the health and wellbeing or society. It is up to the well-trained nurses and recently recruited teenagers to remove these “cancers” once and for all…

  1. THEME
  • Action
  • Adventure
  • Comedy
  • Ecchi[1]
  • School
  • Shounen[2]
  1. EPISODE THOUGHTS
    • Episode One (LINK)
    • Episode Two (LINK)
    • Episode Three (LINK)
    • Episode Four (LINK)
    • Episode Five (LINK)
    • Episode Six (LINK)
    • Episode Seven (LINK)
    • Episode Eight (LINK)
    • Episode Nine (LINK)
    • Episode Ten (LINK)
  2. REVIEW

WARNING: I MAY GIVE SPOILERS AWAY

I do like the concept of this show as I feel it has a deep meaning, especially the metaphors. Basically, I see it as a metaphor where society is often referred as the human body.

In the actual hospital, the nurses treat the patients on all levels. However, when they’re not in hospital they get sent on missions and work as assassins to take out the evil people who cannot be redeemed. These evil people are referred to as “cancers” as they are spreading the wickedness throughout society and it is up to the nurses to get rid of these “cancers.” If they’re coloured “black” then they are beyond redemption but if they are coloured “red” than they can be redeemed.

The nurses, Yuuko, Hitsugi and Miki, are all part of the Ampule Zero group. A new group was formed in the Mochizuki General Hospital in the form of Ampule One. This new group consists of young idol Oriha and high school students, Arashi and Mikoto.

Whilst I like the meaning and concept behind this show I did find it very confusing at times. There were even times when I didn’t know or understand what was going on. In some of the episodes I had to re-watch them a few times to grasp the situation. Sometimes I only understood what actually happened when I watched the latter episodes of the series.

The D99 drug was especially confusing. At first I thought Dr Mochizuki brought Arashi back to life with healing hands he just used the D99 vaccine to safe him. He added his dying son’s limbs into the mix to patch Arashi up. I thought Arashi was the only one who survived the D99 vaccine, but as it turns out, it saved the likes of Hitsugi as well. I think it said right at the end that the D99 could have saved the other children of the Triage, I.E., Mikoto and Oriha. I’m somewhat confused about that part.

I really did like the fighting scenes as they were among my favourite things of this anime. All the Triage fighters have unique and varied styles that could compensate for the weakness of their fellow companions.

One of my favourite fighters is Yuuko, and it isn’t because she’s a pretty face as all the girls in this show have pretty faces. Yuuko is my favourite because she is awesome and deadly. Her swordsmanship is badass and exciting to watch. My favourite moment was when she sliced that car in half. Then again, I also enjoyed the way she sliced the walls to escape. I actually think she’s probably the strongest fighter in the whole show as I didn’t see any weakness in her. I would have liked to see her fight Goryu as I reckon she’ll give her a good fight.

I can’t fail to notice the amount of female skin that has been exposed but what captivated me more was the development of the characters and their bonds. I think Arashi is an intriguing individual. I was confused as to why there was a boy standing next to him but I figured out eventually that it’s all part of his consciousness. It’s like he’s having a mental battle with himself. Does he decide his cause of action or is Ryu pulling the strings and dominating Arashi’s mind? So far it looks like Arashi is controlling his mind well. =)

I really liked Hitsugi’s development. Arashi is probably the ultimate main character of the show and so I figured all the development will focus on him, Mikoto and Oriha. For the first part of the series, I was right. However, I come to learn about Hitsugi’s sudden past which involved Arashi during his rehab. I learned that she had a beautiful bond with him. They share a beautiful bond due to their affection for one another and have similar experiences when it comes to being a “survivor”. It made sense why she was wearing that mask in fights, but, ever since her duel with Arashi she no longer veiled her face. She was already a durable tank when she was fighting, yet, as soon as she lost her mask it seemed like she grew much stronger. Hitsugi grew on me as a character from episode eight onwards.

The romance hints was a bit unexpected. I knew straightaway that Mikoto and Hinako harbour affection towards Arashi to the point of crushes and love, but I never suspected at all that Hitsugi would come to love Arashi. I certainly never expected her to kiss Arashi too. Even though I found that surprising I found it more cute and touching.

The bond and relationship between Mikoto and Chikage was unique. They were friends at school but had to be enemies on the battlefield. It was rather sad when Chikage threw herself into the flames as it would have been nice for Mikoto to have a friend outside of her assassin colleagues. Still, Arashi made everything better. He’s not the most romantic person you would ever come across but he says all the right things at the right time.

All the villains I think were appropriate for a show like Triage X as they were either supremely strong in battle or are insane. I thought Syringe and Kyoji’s family were associated with each other, but it turns out that they’re both separate organisations. I didn’t really like any of the villains from this show, but I especially didn’t like Kyoji. I didn’t like the way he treated the ladies, especially his own servants and bodyguard, Goryu. I thought Goryu was the honour bound type and did have some good side to her but my opinion of her did waver a bit when she interrogated poor Suzue.

Speaking of Suzue brings me appropriately to Inspector Tatara. In the first couple of episodes I thought Inspector Tatara was going to be an Inspector Clueso type of character when something goes wrong whenever he’s around. Haha. I couldn’t really take him seriously at first as I felt that he was just useless. However, I came to respect him more when he took a back seat and didn’t get involved in the serious missions.

I really enjoyed Triage X, so much so that I’m slightly tempted to purchase the manga books. I was engaged with certain parts of the show like the fighting scenes and touching scenes. However, there were also times where I felt slightly underwhelmed with the pace and flow. It’s always a challenge to try and squeeze all of the manga material into ten episodes so I try to look at the bigger picture.

If this show does get a greenlight for a second season I would like to learn more about Miki and Yuuko as I’m curious to learn how Ampule Zero was formed.

I need to make one final shout out to the video of the ending song. I really enjoyed watching Mikoto riding that bike. I know she’s wearing a bikini and all and the video highlights that but for some reason I find it relaxing to watch. Perhaps it’s because of the music? Whatever the reason, I just enjoy watching it. =)

  1. CONCLUSION

One Thumb’s-Up and a Pinky.^^/ (My Rating System) (My Anime Rankings)

Thumbs-UpPinky

THANKS FOR READING

Triage X Japanese Front Cover Volume One

I did wonder how this would work out by attaching the thoughts of each Triage X episode into this review. I must say that I actually like it. I’m not going to do this for every single anime that I watch but I would do this kind of system again. It’s a pretty fun system to get used to. =)

Thanks for Reading. =)

Sayonara.^^/

Ryan

[1] This Manga contains risqué and sexy moments or lecherous characters.

[2] The target audience of this anime is boys. Shounen means boy in Japanese.

One thought on “Triage X Anime Review

  1. Pingback: My Anime Rankings | Ryan's World

Leave a Reply

