Food Wars: Shokugeki no Soma Episode Five Thoughts

Food Wars Shokugeki no Soma

I really wouldn’t be surprised if the Mangaka[1] of Food Wars used to be a chef. The type of ingredients and dish that has been shown in this anime are really top notch and I doubt that someone could make them up without a great deal of research. I worked in the kitchen back when I was at college and there’s no way that I would have been able to conjure up that type of food.

I always wondered what the term “shokugeki” means and I finally found out through Isshiki’s explanation. Basically, it’s a cook-off between two people who wish to battle each other. In this case, Soma wants to battle Isshiki but he declined Soma’s challenge. I think that’s probably for the best, I too would not want to see Soma lose.

Erina was completely ruthless when she beat that leader of the sumo Chanko Hot Pot Research Society. She completely demolished the building after the shokugeki battle between the two. Are all the buildings in the academy seriously in use? Why does Erina need any more? It seems like she’s abusing her authority just because she can and she doesn’t really care who she crushes as it’s all for the good of the academy.

That visualisation of Erina swimming and walking on that island was both pleasant on the eye and hilarious. I knew something funny was about to happen but I didn’t foresee a herd of hippos coming. Haha. How does Erina possess such a wild and vivid imagination? I’m not complaining though as those visualisations are fun to watch. =D

It was implied that Isshiki was holding back after he “drew” with Soma in the cook-off. That would make a lot of sense as there needs to be a biggish gap between the Elite Ten and Soma. It would be fun to watch Soma gradually reach the same level as the Elite Ten through time.

I wouldn’t be surprised if there were other dorms in the academy. If there is than I wonder if there could potentially be Shokugeki battles between dorms, like the Polar Star Dorm versus the Joe Bloggs Dorm. I think that would be pretty awesome and I would really like to see Soma team up with Megumi and Isshiki. =)
I wonder who that new girl is. I also wonder who the “target” is.

I’m going to make a big guess now and say that she’s going to challenge someone from the Polar Star gang and it will be either Megumi or Soma. Fumio hinted that everyone in the current Polar Star dorm is nowhere good enough to be part of the Elite Ten, apart from Isshiki. That makes me think that the “weak targets” will be those from the Polar Star. =)

THANKS FOR READING

Prince William and Kate Middleton

I just want to make a shout out to the royal family to say congratulations to William and Kate on having a healthy baby girl. =) I think it was really cool that a small town crier delivered the news. I would have liked to have done that myself. =D

What does any think they’ll name her? I’m going to throw traditional names on the table such as Mary and Elizabeth but I personally believe they’ll name her Victoria. Perhaps her middle name will be Jane or May? I don’t think middle names are a necessity but quite a lot of people have them.

Thanks for Reading. =)
Sayonara.^^/

Ryan.

[1] A Mangaka is the author and artist of the manga that he/she writes and draws.

Leave a comment